Quantcast

Rock Shox Vivid v/s Fox Dhx 5 for a Sunday

Carnaza

Monkey
Aug 10, 2006
Santiago, Chile
well i´m buying a new sunday frame and i have to choose one shock for the frame... i have no experience with the vivid, and i like the fox...

anyone of you have experiences with both?

pros and cons help me to decide :D

thanks

Hougham

Monkey
Mar 28, 2007
This may not be much help. I have not even used the Vivid yet. I know the Fox and have not had a problem with it. So out of the two I would go with the Vivid just to see what there really like. That’s just the way I am though.

General Lee

Turbo Monkey
Oct 16, 2003
The 802
This may not be much help. . . .

100% correct. well done.

Off subject a bit now I would greatly recommend the CaneCreek double barrel.
It's a well established fact everywhere except below the Mason-Dixon Line that the Double Barrel does not work well on a Sunday in its current state.

Carnaza, I don't think you can really go wrong with either. Both have been heavily tested and proven by the IH team. However, I would make sure you get a shock that is valved for the Sunday as stock DHX's and Vivids have a different pre-set compression and rebound setting and do not work so well on the Sunday. Originally I was told the Vivid would be available aftermarket in different "tunes" but I'm not sure how that worked out. What sets the vivid aprt for me is the ability to tune beginning and end stroke rebound; an advantage if you want it set fast for stutters and chatter but not get ejected by the big hits. Unlike the fox, the vivid has a true low speed compression adjustment rather than a pro-pedal style threshold circuit. Arguably this is more usefull, especially on a bike that pedals better then most. The fox uses an adjustable reservoir volume to controll bottom out, the vivid uses various sized bumpers.