Quantcast

Saint VS Atlas FR

mtbman1127

Monkey
Mar 10, 2008
Raleigh, NC
So what cranks would you choose if you had the choice between the two.

I like the Colors on the Atlas FR but i haven't been able to find many solid reviews on them.....Any help would be great.

al-irl

Turbo Monkey
Dec 9, 2004
A, A
I just went with the atlas. Only cause theres no 83mm xts. I know the new saints have gone on a diet but when are they gonna make some lighter 83mm cranks.

ZHendo

Turbo Monkey
Oct 29, 2006
PNW
Saints are amazing cranks, they just seem to work. The Raceface stuff seems to be on either polar edge of the spectrum, people either swear by it or hate it. I happen to be one of the people that dislike it, because while they do use high quality aluminum for the arms, the BBs still don't hold up like the Shimano ones and have more drag, and the plastic spacers almost always generate play after awhile. That's just my experience though with bikes I've worked on as a mechanic, I have not owned any Raceface cranks myself but at this point I don't think I ever will.

SthFRider

Monkey
Apr 16, 2008
Atlanta,Ga
I have the 83mm atlas FR's. They are amazing. Super strong. They have taken some pretty big hits and have not bent or anything. Don't worry about them not having pedal inserts. I have some pretty big pedal hits and they are still like the day i bought them. They are solidly made and look great. I love mine to death. No complaints at all. I'd recommend them in a heart beat.

Sandwich

Pig my fish!
Staff member
May 23, 2002
borcester rhymes
buy the saints and never worry about your cranks again. I had a guy comment about how stiff my cranks were. Pretty surprising on an 8" travel bike.

The general consensus is that the atlas are plenty strong and pretty, but the BB mounting system is inferior and will wear out when reinstalled. In other words, set it and forget it- no problem, fiddle constantly or switch frame, buy new cranks.

al-irl

Turbo Monkey
Dec 9, 2004
A, A