Quantcast

Scrawny calves!!!

zibbler

Monkey
Okay. I could walk around all day on my tip toes and still have the scrawniest calves on the planet. What gives? It must be genetic. Since I started riding, my quads have gotten nice and tight and strong, but my calves are still scrawny. They're tight and firm, but just plain scrawny.

Even when I used to work out all the time I could still never build any calves no matter how many toe raises I did. Even when I have put on extra weight, my calves stay scrawney. I have a serious disorder known as chicken legs. :angry: :angry:

JMAC

Turbo Monkey
Feb 18, 2002
Go to gym and use those crasy calve machines i still can't walk properly from yesterdays weights. Put it at say 135 and do as many as you can than quikly take 10 pounds off and do it again keep doing that until you get down to 75 pounds you won't be able to walk for awhile but your calves should get bigger.;)

Roasted

Turbo Monkey
Jul 4, 2002
Whistler, BC
Unfortunately calves are genetic. If you have skinny calves, even if you worked them to hell and back you would have only larger skinny calves (sorry to be blunt but even the great Arnold had a terrible time making his legs grow and even at their biggest were still skinny in comparison to fellow competitors)

There are some things to help though

1 - running up stairs
2 - basketball (power jumping using calves only)
3 - plyometrics
4 - EXTREMELY heavy calf raises. Think of it like this. You walk, run and bike all the time. Your calves are the most hit muscle on your body. Do the total opposite. Hit them hard and heavy and 'pump them up' )

Best of luck :)

JMAC also has a good idea with stipped sets. They are very intense and work the calves in a unique way. So again they stress the calves in a way unlike the norm.

zibbler

Monkey
Originally posted by JMAC