Quantcast

Shoooz

BikeGeek

BrewMonkey
Jul 2, 2001
Hershey, PA
I've owned one pair of mtn bike shoes in my life and I've been riding with them for over 4 years now. They've been great shoes, but they've reached the end of their useful life.

While I'm researching replacements, I'd like to hear what my fellow monkies consider to be the best.

mrbigisbudgood

Strangely intrigued by Echo
Oct 30, 2001
Charlotte, NC
I rode a pair of Answer Accelerators for almost 5 years. I still have them as a back-up pair. These were '97 models, I can't speak for the quality of the new models.

The most comfortable pair I've ever ridden are the Lake mid-cut shoes I'm riding now. I usually don't even take them off when I drive home from the trail. We'll see how thay last.

Echo

crooked smile
Jul 10, 2002
Slacking at work
I've used a pair of Sidi Dominators for 5 years. They finally gave up the ghost this year, and I bought another pair without even considering another shoe. They are that good.

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
I have heard so many good things about Sidis......except the price.

I use these discontinued Shimano M220's. I know several other monkeys like these as well (Heidi, Acadian, MtnBikerChk to name a few). They have been replaced with the M221, which basically swapped out the top strap for a locking mechanism. I hear they are not as comfortable as this older model. I bought a new pair of these in the Spring when they were being blown out online. Soon as these die (hopefully I'll get another year out of them), I'll probably check out some Sidis.

Attachments

BikeGeek

BrewMonkey
Jul 2, 2001
Hershey, PA
I was looking at the Sidis over lunch, but I have a hard time swallowing the $190 price tag.

Do the Shimanos have laces and straps? If not, how well do the straps hold when wet?

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
Originally posted by BikeGeek