Quantcast

Should I join the Navy SEALs?

Sandwich

Pig my fish!
Staff member
May 23, 2002
borcester rhymes
So I'm graduating college at the end of this month, and real life is rapidly approaching. I've got to figure out what the hell to do with it. I'm not sure I'm ready for the whole "work, buy things, ask for raise, buy more things, ask for promotion, buy extra things, work work work" cycle just yet. Originally I was going to work for a while then go to grad school, but right now I just don't want to get back in college. I love biology (my degree), but lab work is pretty tedious, and I think i'd rather be calling the shots then performing them, which requires more than a BS. So I'm not really sure what I want to do with myself now that I'm "on my own".

Which leads me to the Navy. Where I'm from, the armed forces are pretty much considered a last resort. I didn't give it much thought when I graduated high school, and nobody I know entered the military except for one kid who went to the naval academy. Anyways, I've always been fascinated with the SEALs, as they are elite physically but also mentally. Additionally, their training is some of the hardest to pass.

I'm pretty fit, getting back into it after slacking off for a couple years, I have good joints etc, and pretty decent eyesight. I swim like a fish and can run alright too. I think that I would like having a disciplined life style- I find that I get less done and procrastinate more when I'm on my own. I'm thinking the Navy could help that. I think it would be a bit of an adventure, too, and I would put off real life for a few more years while I decide what I really want to do. I don't really have a lot of faith in the government (GW), and I'm not a huge fan of the Iraq war, but I'm not a big opponent either.

Anyways, I'm kind of ranting. I'm not going to base a final decision on anybody's comments here, but it would be nice to hear some insight or advice on making this kind of a decision. Anybody BTDT?