Quantcast

Single Track vs. 819

Oct 8, 2003
I was wondering the strength of the 819 compared to a single track rim? I have used single tracks in the past and they have always been strong enough for me is a 819 as strong as a single track?

Lollapalooza

Monkey
Jan 22, 2007
819's aren't nearly as strong as Singletracks. If you want a tubeless rim with a comparable weight to the 819's, ZTR Flows are the strongest in their class. Still, you're comparing a 590g rim to a 470g one.

DirtyMike

Turbo Fluffer
Aug 8, 2005
My own world inside my head
IMO If your looking to go tubeless, Get the singletracks and drop a stans kit on them, works great, east to set up, and they hold up. I ran stans for a long time, Only reason I am not running it now is One of my strips went bad, and I havent gotten a new set yet.

P.S. i have been running the same set of single tracks for 4 years now with no problems, and I weigh in at 245

Oct 8, 2003
Thanks, I wasn't sure. What I was going to do was use an 823 on the rear and a 819 on the front but I would like a rim that is as strong as a single track. Are the DT 5.1 rims as strong as Single Tracks? I used 823s last year and they are super solid rims but I honestly don't mind going through 4 or maybe 5 rims in a year the 823s are so stong they start too look really old long before they go out of true or even get a flat spot (for me). While all this sounds good I should mention that this is for a race wheel set so I wouldnt mind a lighter wheel at the cost of replacing a rim a couple times.

Oct 8, 2003
I like single tracks a lot and have ran them for a long time same set up as you with the stans strip. I guess I just feel like I want something better (more expensive) as sick as that sounds.

Lollapalooza

Monkey
Jan 22, 2007
If you don't mind going through a couple rims a year, ZTR Flows are the way to go. With the 7g yellow tape and Olympic valve stem, they come in a couple hundred grams lighter than the 823's.

DirtyMike

Turbo Fluffer