Quantcast

socks when riding?

vthokierider

Chimp
Sep 14, 2003
I was just curious if there is anyone that doesn't wear socks when riding, or if it is just me. I never did when I ran so when I started riding I decided not to. As far as I can tell there are a few advantages of going without when riding XC. My feet don't stay wet after I ride through deep streams, it is cooler, I can crank my shoes down tighter than if I had socks on. As long as you clean your shoes on a regular basis they don't stink. I know a couple of rodies that don't wear them either. What do you guys think about going sockless for XC?

Serial Midget

Al Bundy
Jun 25, 2002
Fort of Rio Grande
Originally posted by Sideways
What exactly are the point of socks?
Hell no I don't wear them when clipped in!
Might chage my mind soon, as its getting pretty darn cold quick.
In warm weather thin micro fibre socks can wick away moisture that would otherwise be absorbed by the shoe and cause a bit of stankiness.

In cold/wet weather wool socks will keep your toes toasty and help prevent blisters.

Sideways

Monkey
Jun 8, 2002
Asheville, North Carolina
Originally posted by Serial Midget
In warm weather thin micro fibre socks can wick away moisture that would otherwise be absorbed by the shoe and cause a bit of stankiness.

In cold/wet weather wool socks will keep your toes toasty and help prevent blisters.
Man, stank just isn't a concern with my cycling shoes.
Either it just doesn't matter, or they get cleansed with all the stream crossings around here.

Wool kicks ass, though.

gorgechris

Monkey
Mar 25, 2003
Traveling the eastern U.S.
Originally posted by Sideways
Wool kicks ass, though.
Dude, I am addicted to my SmartWool socks. I wear them everywhere. I'm wearing a pair right now, as I sit here at work in a pair of khakis and a polo shirt.