Quantcast

Song of the Day (05May06)

narlus

Eastcoast Softcore
Staff member
Nov 7, 2001
behind the viewfinder
this is a late adder...i had a couple of songs uploaded and ready to go, but then as i typed in the date, i realised this was Cinco De Mayo, so this is a more appropriate selection.

Calexico started out as a side project to Giant Sand, w/ rhythm section Joey Burns and John Convertino splintering off from Howe Gelb momentarily to write some of their own songs. they weren't as abstract and loose as Giant Sand, Howe being one of our generation's true eccentrics and visionaries. but that's another story...

i'm not sure why, because i've been listening to Calexico for about 9 years, ever since i found out about their debut Spoke, but the california town they take their name from is a combination of California and Mexico, and that's a very accurate summation of their sound; they also have a great pulp fiction/film noir sound w/ the reverb-drenched guitar sound especially notable on The Black Light. this song is notable for the addition of Mariachi Luz de Luna, local mariachi outfit from their adopted hometown of Tucson (btw, in '90 i happened to have the good timing to catch the mariachi festival during my sole visit to that good city, and it was amazing).

i've seen calexico about 4 times now, and it's been a great experience every time...check 'em out if they come locally to you.

Minas De Cobre

Toshi

butthole powerwashing evangelist
Oct 23, 2001
johnbryanpeters said:
Having trouble with this one - a little too close to Muzak.
i disagree strongly with this assessment. i quite like this track: it gets the prize :trophy_br

the ambient train noises at the beginning and the thoughtful pace of the intro are nice touches, as are the nice stereo separation on the mix of the strings (left) and the mariachi-esque trumpets (right side). the chords, of course, are nice:

intro, F maj: I6 -- ii-flat (Gb!) - ii6 - I ---, repeat, then ii...