Quantcast

Sorta NBD! Yeti SB5+

heavyd

Monkey
Dec 1, 2016
Not where I wanna be
So, the tl;dr first: It's a Yeti SB5+ size large, Turq edition with SRAM Eagle x01. Sorry for the crappy pics, it's 12:30AM and I should probably be asleep! :D

The long(er) story. In a previous life, I wrenched for a living. All through the 90's, I wrenched and raced bicycles (I still have my GT Avalanche hardtail full of Paul's components and Ringle' stuff!) and rode a lot of BMX (mostly vert, street and skatepark) . I built many a Yeti for doctors and lawyers who could afford them and always wanted one myself, specifically I wanted an ACR (this was 1995 after all).

FFWD a bit and life and careers happen, I move away from all my racing buddies, move to where the riding sucks, pick up other hobbies and just plain don't have time any more, Tragic, I know, but shit happens.

After almost 15 years of not riding, I finally get out of Texas (hurrah!) and end up in Omaha, NE (hurrah?) where there's a lot of trails and a lot of nice rolling hills that suit my old ass just fine!

So I tell the little lady "I'ma buy me a Yeti!". I have a buddy who works at the Singletrack Factory in Denver (Harley, look him up, he's a good dude) and I start talking about Yeti's. I almost buy an SB5 but I really like the idea of a plus bike for me; I am a big man after all. I'm not racing, I just want fun and capable, so I sit and wait.

Then bam! Right after SRAM announces the new group, Yeti announces the SB5+. Harley literally texts me that morning "Soooo.. did you see it?". Needless to say, I ordered it that day.