Quantcast

Specialized gear

Transcend

My Nuts Are Flat
Apr 18, 2002
Towing the party line.
Anybody have any first hand experiance with the new Dissident helmet. Looks very promising.
Specialized Bicycle Components : Dissident

And the Hillbilly tire........says its for dry, but it looks like a great intermediate tire.
Specialized Bicycle Components : Hillbilly DH
I've been running hillbillies for 2 years now. Super grippy tire. You are right, they make perfect intermediates. Less squirmy than a full spike on dry/rock faces, but as much grip in the deep stuff.

Mulestar

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2007
in the dirt
Hillbilly is perfect for anything soft. Also good for mud on rockier trails where full spikes are a no-go. They suffer on hardpack/dry compared to their other DH tires.

Haven't tried the dissident but their xc helmets are great and I've yet to try a piece of specialized gear I didn't like.

manhattanprjkt83

Rusty Trombone
Jul 10, 2003
Nilbog
To you guys running hillybillys would you put them on a trail bike for super gnarly north east winter conditions? I have some wetscreams sitting here which are a bit tall (could cut) but really havent decided to go that route yet.

Also what is the size like on the 2.3? Is it smaller than a scream?

Biffff

Monkey
Jan 10, 2006
I'm pretty sure they run big. The Chunder and Butcher 2.3's are the size of a Minion 2.5.

stiksandstones

Turbo Monkey
May 21, 2002
Orange, Ca
The tires really are fantastic, perhaps the best on the market right now.
And they don't get old and crusty when sitting in a hot storage unit for months! (I still had a few new ones from last year that I just cleaned out a storage unit, rubber was still fresh and grippy).

Mulestar

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2007
in the dirt
To you guys running hillybillys would you put them on a trail bike for super gnarly north east winter conditions? I have some wetscreams sitting here which are a bit tall (could cut) but really havent decided to go that route yet.