Specialized Wins First Ever Constructors Championship

Oct 20, 2009
<p>Points scored for racing results in World Cups and World Championships earns Specialized the top spot among 67 manufacturers</p><p>
October 2, 2009 &#8211; Morgan Hill, CA In a new contest created by the International Mountain Bike Teams, Tech Support and Organizers (IMTTO), Specialized took &#8220;gold&#8221; for its 2009 MTB racing season and walked away with full bragging rights out of a field of 67 bike manufacturers. Runners up included Trek, Giant, Intense and Scott.</p><p>
The IMTTO Constructors Championship included all manufacturers whose bikes were raced at World Cups and World Championships. Points were awarded based on the top 20 places in men&#8217;s cross country, downhill and four cross and the top 10 in women&#8217;s cross country, downhill and four cross.</p><p>
Owing in no small part to its world-class Specialized Factory Racing team, including Burry Stander, Lene Byberg, Todd Wells and Christoph Sauser, Specialized claimed 648 points compared to Trek&#8217;s 2nd place at 415 points and Giant&#8217;s 404 points.</p><p>
The 2009 racing season has been an impressive one for Specialized, with solid results from every single contender. Highlights include:</p><p>
· World Cup XC wins by Burry Stander and Lene Byberg on the Epic and Era</p><p>
· Burry Stander wins U23 World Championships on Epic</p><p>
· Lene Byberg takes silver at Elite Women&#8217;s World Championships on the Era</p><p>
· Christoph Sauser earns rainbow stripes in XC on the Epic, and Rafael Alvarez steals stripes with the SX in 4X</p><p>
· Sam Hill wins World Cup overall on the Demo</p><p>
As a strong supporter of mountain bike racing since the dawn of time&#8212;aided by the likes of MTB legend and Specialized veteran Ned Overend and revolutionary bikes like the Stumpjumper&#8212;Specialized sees the 2009 Constructors Championship as a significant achievement and proof of its enduring integrity in the sport</p>