Quantcast

Spring break '19

6thElement

Schrodinger's Immigrant
Jul 29, 2008
Wife and I are getting antsy for a road trip, maybe the usual early season Fruita in a few weeks time.

6thElement

Schrodinger's Immigrant
Jul 29, 2008
Never ridden Jem, but up on Goose is one of the best places I've ever camped.

rideit

Bob the Builder
Aug 24, 2004
In the cleavage of the Tetons
I have been camping on Gooseberry for about 22 years, I still know of wood stashes!
Weird to be staying in town at a hotel.
Got up to Goose, and there was nobody there. This is the White parking lot at 5:30

Here is the view you all know

Now, about the bike (Yeti SB100)

HOLY CRAP, I LOVE THIS BIKE.
You know that feeling when you get on a bike, and it instantly feels like it is 'yours'?
I have this with this bike. Took about five minutes to get used to the 29 wheels. It actually wheelies/lifts the front end way easier than my Altitude.
Super poppy and playful, I can bunny hop this thing sky high. I quickly realized that the 35mm stem was way too short, I put on a 50 and it is perfect now. Cleaned 85-90% of South Rim going up, and about 95% of it going down. (there are a few moves with too much exposure for my taste). Only one death defying endo. Could really tell the roll-over advantage in some chunky spots...And South Rim is CHUNKY.
Went Up S.R, down to Windmill, then turned around, went out to the point, and back down S.R. I really love that climb.
Blown away.
The XTR shifts more easily under load than Eagle, and I really appreciate the 41/46/51 low end.
Went from a 30/50 to a 32 (oval) and 51, so torque is about the same. couldn't really tell much difference with the oval, but I was cleaning lots more in taller gears...but that *probably* has more to do with the 80 days on the rollers this winter in the pain cave.