Quantcast

SS Bar width....

I've been riding a SS Bontager for a few years now, over the years I have tweaked the bike a bit to get it just the way I like. One of the best improvements I've come across is running a wide bar, I think it's 27", maybe 28". Anyway, I found this gave a ton of leverage when climbing. It's almost like being a gear lower.

Anybody else run wide bars?? Any other cool tricks you can share to improve performance?

PsychO! Mike

[edit] This is an XC oriented SS, not an urban style, hucking SS.

bikebabe

Monkey
Jul 31, 2002
Maryland
I also run wide bars. I think they're around 28" and they do help a lot when climbing. My first singlespeed (and current townie) has 24" bars which seemed cramped when climbing out of the seat.

Another performance enhancer...wide tires for better stability and suspension if you ride rigid.

bikebabe said:
I also run wide bars. I think they're around 28" and they do help a lot when climbing. My first singlespeed (and current townie) has 24" bars which seemed cramped when climbing out of the seat.

Another performance enhancer...wide tires for better stability and suspension if you ride rigid.
Ahhhh YES!!!!!! Almost forgot about fat rubber!!!! I'm running Tioga DH 2.3's. And believe it or not, they do fit between the 'trager stays!!!

scrublover

Turbo Monkey
Sep 1, 2004
28" wide Azonic DW bars on mine. Same bar (though cut to 27") on my geared bike, I love it so much!

And ditto on the fat tires as well. 2.25" IRC Trailbear in back, and 2.5" WTB Weirwolf in front.

wooglin

Monkey
Apr 4, 2002
SC