Quantcast

Suggestions for shaving weight. Hardrock.

kaptr1d

Chimp
May 2, 2005
Long Island NY
Hi,

Ive been riding strictly downhill for the past 4 years until my Joshua gave out last season. Now im lookin to stay more local to where I live, instead of making trips to Vermont every time i want to ride.

I bought an 05 Hardrock Pro Disc bc i saw it as a compromise between the bulletproof kinda bike id need for my riding style w/o too much overkill considering the trails that are local to me.

If i go back to Killington this summer, I will not be riding this bike on the mountain, Ill get a second bike for downhill/freeride.

With that in mind, the trails near my house are a mix of cross country and steep climbs followed by steep rocky downhills. I want to shave some pounds off the hardrock and maintain the strength i need to prevent snapping stuff off. Thx for ur help.

Westy

the teste
Nov 22, 2002
Sleazattle
Hard to tell what you have on there but the easiest way to drop weight in a very important area is to get some lighter tires. Not knowing what you have makes it hard to say much more.

kaptr1d

Chimp
May 2, 2005
Long Island NY
my bad, i shoulda have listed mods. the bikes 2 weeks old, ive got shimano spd clipless pedals and a front fender for the mud. as far as everything else, its stock.

ive heard bad things about the stock fork, stock crank, front derailer, so im looking for some specific suggestions. not only what to replace, but what to replace it with.

my only previous bike was stock so i dont know anything about aftermarket components.

BikeGeek

BrewMonkey
Jul 2, 2001
Hershey, PA
The cheapest and easiest way to shave pounds is on the rider, not the bike. Most upgrades will save you grams and grams don't add up to pounds very quickly.

That being said, what's your current spec? Knowing what you have now will make it easier to suggest swaps.

edit: disregard the spec, I just saw your post

what's your budget? lighter usually = $$$

kaptr1d

Chimp