Quantcast

Suit advice?

Pesqueeb

bicycle in airplane hangar
Feb 2, 2007
Riding the baggage carousel.
I havn't worn a suit since I got married, but with my aniversery coming up I thought I might supprise the wife by picking one up and taking her out. I'm an aircraft mechanic by day, so suits really arn't my thing. I actually only own one pair of jeans and almost exclusivly wear shorts. Mens Warehouse is having a 2'fer one sale so it seems to me like a good time to run over and pick a couple up. Anyone actually shop there? Experiences? Are prices comprable to say JC Penny or some other such place?

Talk to me people.

jimmydean

The Official Meat of Ridemonkey
Sep 10, 2001
Portland, OR
Depending on your budget, you can get an OK suit off the rack, but Mens Warehouse has some nice stuff they can alter to fit you.

Bicyclist

Turbo Monkey
Apr 4, 2004
SB
I would go to Nordstrom Rack if you can afford it. $300-400 suits that used to be at least $800, and they will alter as well. I just picked up a Hugo Boss suit there that was my first "real" suit, and I couldn't be happier - it's nice having a good suit that you know will last, and it's really a long-term investment.

Stick with gray or something like that (probably not black), and 2-button. It will be the most versatile. Don't skimp on a cheesy tie either, and shoes are important as well.

My .02.

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
Men's Warehouse is just fine for suits for those of us who just want a decent suit at a decent price. They'll fit you, they'll match you up with shirts and ties, and they'll be very friendly and helpful about it. Tailoring will cost a little extra. I've found their prices to be pretty much right in line with Macy's and the like, but their service is much better.

Austin Bike

Turbo Monkey
Jan 26, 2003
Duh, Austin