Quantcast

technique ? re: climbing out of the saddle

jacksonpt

Turbo Monkey
Jul 22, 2002
Vestal, NY
I've noticed that on really steep climbs, when out of the saddle, I have to pull myself towards to bike to counteract the pushing away from teh bike that happens on the downward pedal stroke.

I'm not very good at spinning when out of the saddle - is that why I have to pull back into the bike for leverage, or do most people do it when the going gets steep? Or am I just a crappy rider?

The Toninator

Muffin
Jul 6, 2001
High(ts) Htown
i'm not real sure i understand what your saying but i have 2 distinct climbing positions, for steep gradients and technical terrain.

1. butt on the very tip of the saddle, very much like a time trial position, chest/head down.
2. position forward same position as above but an inch over the saddle.

Both positions are way more forward than a normal biking position.

jacksonpt

Turbo Monkey
Jul 22, 2002
Vestal, NY
ok, let me try to explain...

When I get out of teh saddle, I basically stand up on the pedals... putting all my weight on which ever pedal is in the downstroke. When the pedal reaches the bottom of the circle, I shift my weight to the other pedal.

When things get really steep, I have a hard time keeping the pedals moving... so I find I have to use my arms and pull myself down towards the bike. This gives me more leverage to mash down on the pedals.

Like I said... I'm not a good technical rider when I get out of the saddle.

On a semi-related question from someone who's still fairly new to the road scene... what is technical road riding? I understand what a technical section is on the trail, but on the road???

jacksonpt

Turbo Monkey
Jul 22, 2002
Vestal, NY
The Toninator said:
Oh hello this is the road forum. :stupidme:

1. still applies i'll need to rethink #2.
haha... I was wondering.

Yes, I do something similar to #1 when grinding things out, but when that's not enough, I have to get off the saddle.

The Toninator