Quantcast

Tell me about the new pike vs a Fox 34.

stoney

Part of the unwashed, middle-American horde
Jul 26, 2006
Colorado
The cost of adding a TALAS damper to my 36 vs selling it and buying a new fork is close enough that a new fork is on the table. Nick has told me that the new Pike is supposed to be pretty awesome, but I have no idea. I've been riding Fox by default for 10 years.

Sanction and 15mm are the same; weight it a wash.Rigidity should be about the same. It comes down to the damper.

Does anybody have info, or has anybody ridden both?

CBJ

year old fart
Mar 19, 2002
Copenhagen, Denmark
I have in recent time not seen so much positive buzz as the Pike is getting. Seems like people really like it and prefer it over the 34. Besides this I am buying a Pike because I can lower it to 140mm which is not an option with the 34 and I do not want to get the travel adjustment. Also better service intervals.

I have seen a MTBR group buy thread in CO with a price of 745 for the Pike. Much better than what I think you can get the 34 for.

Dogboy runs the Pike with the Yeti

http://www.ridemonkey.com/forums/showthread.php?t=263225&p=3942861&viewfull=1#post3942861

stoney

Jul 26, 2006
Colorado
All I know is that I can't run a Pike on my frame. :rant:
Buy a modern bike with a tapered headtube. You'll be fine then. I know somebody with a neon green Yeti SB66 for sale. He might even throw in the headset and front derailluer for you,

HAB

Chelsea from Seattle
Apr 28, 2007
Seattle
Buy a modern bike with a tapered headtube. You'll be fine then. I know somebody with a neon green Yeti SB66 for sale. He might even throw in the headset and front derailluer for you,
O rly?

stoney

Jul 26, 2006
Colorado
Kevin, please use your words.

Hab, I'm selling the SB. It's an xl.

stoney

Jul 26, 2006
Colorado