Quantcast

The Anomoly

Ascentrek

Monkey
Jul 17, 2003
Golden, CO
I ride a fine line between XC and DH when it comes to appearance. I also read countless debates on this forum about DHr's and XCr's. What seems to be the real debate is Shuttling vs. pedaling.

I've been in the biking world (and when I worked in a shop, the 'industry') since I got my first mtn bike in 1988. I was of the camp that the lightest stuff will make me a better rider... and then things change. Going from light weight to realiable and durable seems to be my main theme in mtn biking today. I live in Golden, CO, and have access to several trails without mounting my bike on top of my car and driving there (I really do hate riding on the road). So, I push a 43 lb XC mountain bike up the hills around the town of golden (that would include Apex, Chimney Gultch, N and S Table mtns). 43 lb bike? Its a bullit with a 7 inch travel fork on the front. 7 and 7 I say, its comfy for my aging body. I enjoy getting a good workout, and I really like the cushy feel of being able to descend at a confortable pace with supreme comfort. Besides, pushing a big travel bike like that to the top will get you in shape faster than the uber-light bike.... I guess.

I've learned a few things recently in doing this 'all mountain' type riding. One, I look like a DH with the bigger fork. I"ve been put in a category instantly when I stop to let others pass while heading up. I've been asked "are you shuttling"? One thing I don't do in the front range, is wear a full face helmet and pads. If I look the part of a 'regular' cyclist, I won't get categorized. I SHOULD not ever descend with too much speed to warrant the DH gear... NOT IN THE FRONT RANGE!