Quantcast

The best photo I've ever taken.

bikenweed

Turbo Monkey
Oct 21, 2004
Los Osos

Any advice would be appreciated. Shot with a Cannon a510, on the auto feature. I'm no camera expert, but any help would be nice!

Check it out, the writing divides the photo into thirds, and she loosely follows the rule of thirds as well. Hmmm, rule of thirds, twice? Or does it just suck...?

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
I'm actually not a big fan of the "rule of thirds". It's a personal thing - the rule of thirds is a good general guideline to follow when learning to make sure your photo has some substantial composition. The reason I mention it is that some try to adhere to the rule too rigidly and sometimes miss out on developing their own style or considering what looks good to them.

I like the picture as a statement. I think I might find it more compelling if there was more writing on the wall? Also, the girl is wearing white... she has no "pop" in the picture.

bikenweed

Turbo Monkey
Oct 21, 2004
Los Osos
Good point about the white shirt. I didn't even think about that. Anyone else wanna chime in?

I like the pic because it shows the rebellious beauty of youth in a state of shame. It captures a strong part of being young. I'm sure you could have another interpretation of it though, that's what defines art. It's not a super great photo, but it's the coolest one I've taken so far.

Quo Fan

don't make me kick your ass
I don't know art, but I know I like. I like the photo. The lack of background "noise" accentuates the fact that the writing is in red and brings it out. The girl wearing white only brings out the darker color of her skin, making her stand out even more. The slice of sunlight in the upper corner is a nice touch.

justsomeguy

Monkey
Oct 3, 2005
That location has potential but for me the compostition has too many jarring elements.

-arm cut off

-diagonal sun splash

-too much dead space above text