Quantcast

The move from 26 to 24s

untitledsince89

Turbo Monkey
Nov 11, 2005
Winston-Salem NC
I've been riding a p2 chromo for the last two years and love it, but after riding a lot of street of it this past season, I feel a 24 would better suit my needs.
The only problem is that my 26 is my do it all street, trail, ds bike, and if I switch to 24 then I won't have a bike to fill that gap.

So should I suck it up get a 24" street bike like the new wtp?
and DS short travel rig to fill the gap
Or is riding trails on a 24 with a susy fork be a better fit.

Input, ideas, whatever
I've been putting it off for to long and need to make a decision this off season

cmc

Turbo Monkey
Nov 17, 2006
austin
I've been riding a p2 chromo for the last two years and love it, but after riding a lot of street of it this past season, I feel a 24 would better suit my needs.
The only problem is that my 26 is my do it all street, trail, ds bike, and if I switch to 24 then I won't have a bike to fill that gap.

So should I suck it up get a 24" street bike like the new wtp?
and DS short travel rig to fill the gap
Or is riding trails on a 24 with a susy fork be a better fit.

Input, ideas, whatever
I've been putting it off for to long and need to make a decision this off season
just depends if you want the sus fork option or not.....

sittingduck

Turbo Monkey
Jun 22, 2007
Oregon
Get the 24s for street, and set up a hardtail or short travel DS for everything else....
You have to figure out where you want your compromises, or else you end up with 4 or 5 bikes. Which is fine too, if you have the funds and a place to park 'em all!
Look at your main riding habits and locations real hard....... The right choice will come to you.
I probably wouldn't want to make a 24" bike an "all-around" like you can with a 26. Street/park is very doable on a 26, but freeride is not so great on 24s.

jonfaure

Chimp
Feb 9, 2009
San Marcos CA