Quantcast

The trail under the freeway

Skookum

bikey's is cool
Jul 26, 2002
in a bear cave
Collonade

So far a year into the construction phase of the mt. bike skills park and things are coming along pretty well. Underneath I-5 just north of Downtown Seattle, this park will be a great showcase for mt. biking to the public.

The beginner trail is really getting close to being done. i envision this Spring we'll have a fun new stretch of singletrack that everyone can enjoy while work will be focused on the intermediate and advanced sections. That's when i think people are going to really start raising their brows to this parks potential.

My job today was to get the framing on a bridge completed. Also helping me was Ross who had his own project of setting in sandstone pavers on both sides of the bridge.

Mike W who's worked extensively on the project really was pushing to have me complete the bridge. Since i'm in construction by trade, basic carpentry is not anything i dread. While pushing for that he also clued me into the fact that we have a ton of sandstone that nobody knew what to do with. Grippy like sandpaper i thought it was a no-brainer we should use them to make easy approaches to each side of the bridge. Ross came over and really did an outstanding job putting the idea to reality.

Packing in the gaps with fill gravel.

Art T who's really like the project manager for this whole shindig, really wanted a bridge that started with a right bank, leveled, then as it turns left at the top have it bank to the left. The height of the 2 post were a little extreme so i had to replace one, and trim another down. The angles were super odd, so getting the frame done took alot of time. Then toe-nailing some 2X6 bracing to tie it together and add a touch more lateral strength. It's very solid now, once we get some split cedar for runners it's gonna be dialed for years.

Stoked to get it done, and stoked to use my new 24 volt cordless toys!