Quantcast

Thread of limited audience: Solidworks

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by MMike, Sep 5, 2005.

  1. MMike

    MMike A fowl peckerwood.

    Rep/Likes:
    61 / 84
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    just sittin' here drinkin' scotch
    So...Swx 2006 CD's are currently being shipped. Who's gonna take the plunge and upgrade right away? I'm thinking I'm gonna wait until SP1.......
     
    #1 -   Sep 5, 2005

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. alexchannell

    alexchannell Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Ehh, not in a huge rush...out of some interest possibly....here is a King hub I modeled in SW2005
    http://channell.dyndns.org/hub.htm
    (any bike companies want to hire an engineer?...I'm serious :))
     
    #2 -   Sep 5, 2005
  3. ioscope

    ioscope Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,004
    Location:
    Vashon, WA
    nice...
     
    #3 -   Sep 5, 2005
  4. alexchannell

    alexchannell Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    :stupid: :D
     
    #4 -   Sep 5, 2005
  5. ioscope

    ioscope Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,004
    Location:
    Vashon, WA
    oh it's on now!
     
    #5 -   Sep 5, 2005
  6. oly

    oly skin cooker for the hive

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Witness relocation housing
    Solidworks is the new Autocad.

    Im a Cadkey, MasterCam, Surfcam kind of guy, although I do forsee SW in my future. It was on my task list for this year to evaluate, but as always were understaffed and overworked. It just wont make sence for us not to use it as most the other departments currently do. Yes, some of the programs i use are lumbering dinos in comparison. Problem is im currently 100x faster in traditional wireframe drawing and for the simplicity of what i do most modeling packages can actually be more cumbersome and slower. Also they dont deal with the freeform elements of some of the stuff I do..... bottom line is that i need to spend the time to learn, but dont have the time.
     
    #6 -   Sep 6, 2005
  7. MMike

    MMike A fowl peckerwood.

    Rep/Likes:
    61 / 84
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    just sittin' here drinkin' scotch
    Gotta switch man.... SWx has 3d sketches. you can do any free form stuff you need.

    I went from CATIA v4 (Pratt & Whitney and Boeing), to AutoCAD/Mechanical Desktop...and it was miserable. ACAD is just so miserable to work with.

    Go through the tutorials carefully and it's pretty surprising how fast you can get good at it.... Well I can... becuase I'm a CAD god......
     
    #7 -   Sep 6, 2005
  8. Andyman_1970

    Andyman_1970 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 5
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3,117
    Location:
    The Natural State
    Wow that's a blast from the past, I've not heard Cadkey mentioned in years, but it's what I cut my teeth on.

    I'm a Helix man myself (the PC version of CADAM), and agree with you MMike that AutoCAD is a pain to work with...............
     
    #8 -   Sep 6, 2005
  9. stosh

    stosh Darth Bailer

    Rep/Likes:
    14 / 86
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2001
    Messages:
    21,870
    Location:
    NY
    I'm still using Autocad 2004 for Architecture.

    I don't really belong in here.
     
    #9 -   Sep 6, 2005
  10. stosh

    stosh Darth Bailer

    Rep/Likes:
    14 / 86
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2001
    Messages:
    21,870
    Location:
    NY
    Ditto on the cadkey comment....

    :)
     
  11. preppie

    preppie Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    Europe
    Maybe you guys can help me out.
    I'm a 3D computer animator/modeler and I use Lightwave, 3D max and Maya
    for my current job in the Ps2 Games industry...
    BUT
    I want to get a job in the (manufacturing) industry.
    So I need to work with new software like AutoCAD or Solidworks or... etc.
    What is the most used software in the industry ?
    It seems that most company's ask for an AutoCAD operator.

    What would you suggest for someone who has to start from scratch?
    Any help is welcome.
     
  12. MMike

    MMike A fowl peckerwood.

    Rep/Likes:
    61 / 84
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    just sittin' here drinkin' scotch
    I'd say Solidworks or CATIA, depending on the industry. Big aerospace companies will be CATIA, Pro E or Unigraphics.

    We're a manufacturing co. and we went from Mechanical Desktop to Solidworks....but it was my decision to do so.

    Totally depends on the company. But learn one package really well. It's not THAT hard to learn a new CAD software once you're good at one of them. The philosophies are all more or less the same. Most companies recognize that.

    But if you are going with an Autodesk product, learn Inventor.
     
  13. Cooter Brown

    Cooter Brown Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,454
    Location:
    Snow Hall, tweakin on math
    I use Pro-Engineer Wildfire 2.0 here, used some Solidworks back in 2000, it was V-8 I believe, been on Pro-E ever since then. I wouldn't mind brushing back up on my Solidworks though. How much is a seat of Solidworks BTW? If you don't mind me asking.
     
  14. MMike

    MMike A fowl peckerwood.

    Rep/Likes:
    61 / 84
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    just sittin' here drinkin' scotch
    About $5k or so.... you can sometimes haggle with the VAR though...
     
  15. Cooter Brown

    Cooter Brown Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,454
    Location:
    Snow Hall, tweakin on math
    Cool, thanks!
     
  16. splat

    splat Nam I am

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 60
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,666
    Location:
    Well Maybe Windows is Bearable ! Unix Rules !
    My father-in-law uses Data cad for his Architecture stuff. and Tonyhawk is the Man who supports my Father-in-law! ( talk about an Odd discovery )
     
  17. buildyourown

    buildyourown Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,857
    Location:
    South Seattle
    We just got mastercam X installed here at work. I hate new software!
    Since our only use for solidworks is to convert/view customer files, we upgrade when our customers decide it's time to upgrade.

    And if I were going to learn 1 software it would be SW. ProE is very close but it's more expensive so less companies use it.
    The only companies who still us Autocad are the ones who don't know any better. Don't waste your time with it.
     
  18. Spitfired

    Spitfired Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    489
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Whenever I draw a bike, I start with Autocad. I think it's a ton easier to figure out all the distances between everything in 2D before I try to model it in solidworks.
    Here's a gigantic picture of the most recent thing I've drawn.
    http://home.rochester.rr.com/staticevo/images/Heavy 3R.jpg
     
  19. MMike

    MMike A fowl peckerwood.

    Rep/Likes:
    61 / 84
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    just sittin' here drinkin' scotch
  20. oly

    oly skin cooker for the hive

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Witness relocation housing
    Cadkey Roxxors!

    Really though, its what i learned on, and ive been able to move around and keep using it. Unfortunalty they have made a major change to it and the new program is different. Rather than having to buy a bunch of new seats for alot of $$, and then I'd have to learn it to then teach everyone else, we will just get some more seats for SW and all learn a new Platform all on the same page.
     
  21. MMike

    MMike A fowl peckerwood.

    Rep/Likes:
    61 / 84
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    just sittin' here drinkin' scotch
    Worst CAD software ever: CADRA
     
  22. Slugman

    Slugman Frankenbike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,031
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    LOL - we JUST upgraded to 2003 this year, doubt my company will throw down the $$$ for it.

    I personally do not like it that much - I started on Cadkey, went to Pro/E and finally to Unigraphics... SW was a big step back from where I was.
     
  23. XtCamZ

    XtCamZ Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Arkansas
    Funny that I saw this thread. I'm actually waiting around on our computer guy because he is upgrading our Solidworks to 2006. We had a conference call with SW about a week ago, it looks like they bumped up a lot of the productivity of it. Looks promising, but that's nothing new with SW.
     
  24. Gunner

    Gunner Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Framingham, MA
    bah.......Pro/E all the way!!


    ...but I think I'm required by law to say that since I work for PTC ;) (the designers of Pro/Engineer, among other products)
     
  25. oly

    oly skin cooker for the hive

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Witness relocation housing
    I might have to disagree. My dad bought KeyCad at fred meyers for 12.99. That has to be THE worst cad program out there..... Its pretty funny though how they sorta piggybacked on the Cadkey name. I bet they wanted to make CadAuto, but figured AutoCads lawyers were better than Cadkeys.....
     
  26. oly

    oly skin cooker for the hive

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Witness relocation housing
    So once you install the New SW, it permanatly locks out all Ridemonkey sessions? Wow that is boosting productivity..... :)
     
  27. XtCamZ

    XtCamZ Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Arkansas
    That is if we ever get it. The computer guy worked on it all afternoon, and as of this morning at 10am (that's when i left), it still wasn't running. So I can't even do my job... yay productivity! but I ain't complainin!
     
  28. Kornphlake

    Kornphlake Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I saw about 12 boxes sitting in the IT department, we won't start using it company wide for another 2 months or so, I won't have it for another 6 weeks or more.
     
  29. jroymcd

    jroymcd Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    i use solidworks 2003 we will be getting the 06 upgrade any day now. i still use cadkey to demension some drawings that SW cant handle well.
     
  30. Denny

    Denny Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I learned a long time ago to never be too quick on the upgrade cycle, unless you need the latest version for customer file compatibility. SW just releases endless service packs that crash in different ways... :rolleyes:

    Lately I'm on the EDU/Student release cycle, once a year in the fall, no service packs. Way less stress!
     
  31. XtCamZ

    XtCamZ Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Arkansas
    We finally got it....doesn't look much different, yet. That's a good thing tho
     
  32. 563 740

    563 740 Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    North of Albany
    AutoCAD (imo) is amazing for 2-D multi-view style work. My last job was at a boiler venting pipe manufacturer and AutoCAD rocked for that. There's no need for 3-D solid modeling when the most complex shape you work with is an elliptical cone made of .024" sheet metal. Spend some time with AutoCAD, learn all the handy shortcuts, and it becomes like an extension of your brain. Lines just start appearing and disappearing and your design comes through on the screen. You're in the zone, man. :) It helps to have a manager that's been using AutoCAD since like, release 1, to show you all the tricks.

    When it comes to 3-D, I will agree AutoCAD is not the choice for solid modeling. Also, just run away from Inventor. I learned Pro-E at school, and Inventor pretty much sucks compared to Pro-E. It's a pain to use and there's no real precision. My coworker who learned SolidWorks felt the same. Inventor is really best used making pretty pictures for the marketing department to put in the catalog.
     
  33. MMike

    MMike A fowl peckerwood.

    Rep/Likes:
    61 / 84
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    just sittin' here drinkin' scotch

    What? 2006?

    My VAR says I should have my CD's next week. I think I'm going to install it at home first and dink with it there before I screw things up too badly here.
     
  34. jroymcd

    jroymcd Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    very true. when get sent a 06 file we can not open it.
     
  35. MMike

    MMike A fowl peckerwood.

    Rep/Likes:
    61 / 84
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    just sittin' here drinkin' scotch
    '06 files? What files have you received from people? SWx 06 hasn't even been available for a month. (maybe 2 months with the download version)
     
  36. jroymcd

    jroymcd Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    we sometimes have problems handling 05 files also.
     
  37. MMike

    MMike A fowl peckerwood.

    Rep/Likes:
    61 / 84
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    18,261
    Location:
    just sittin' here drinkin' scotch
    I got my SWx 2006 CD's today...... dare I install?
     
  38. ÆX

    ÆX Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,921
    Location:
    amarillo
    i just got 2005 off torrent.

    going through some new
    tutorials toady in fact.
     
  39. azonicbruce

    azonicbruce Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    The flatlands of San Antonio. At least no more dus
    I'd say go for it... but only on a personal computer, just for testing.

    Last year rolling out 2005 SP0 was a nightmare. Major printing issues that caused a week or two in delays for production drawings trying to figure out a work-around.

    For production I'd say wait until at LEAST SP1.

    I'm in a bind myself because I'm going to be getting 2006 here shortly. I use SW for contract work and helping my brother-in-law's business. Problem is that where I work-work, they didn't pay the subscription service and still have 2005 SP1.0. I'm figuring they won't fork out the cash for the upgrade until Jan '06. So I need the option of working on files at home.

    If you do install it, let me know of any issued you come across.
     
  40. azonicbruce

    azonicbruce Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    The flatlands of San Antonio. At least no more dus
    We're not a bicycle company, but looks like you got some decent modeling skills.

    Send me an email (no PMs please) if you are seriously looking for an engineering position:

    bruce@nilandco.com