Quantcast

thu-axles

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by DH SB RIDER, Sep 27, 2005.

  1. DH SB RIDER

    DH SB RIDER Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Are there any DH frames out there that do not require a thu-axle in the rear?
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. JacobDW

    JacobDW Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Manassas, VA
    Transition Dirtbag, not exactly a DH rig, but I use mine for all around DH and FR
     
  3. AR_

    AR_ Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Global Gravity Mecca, aka: Manchester UK
    Balfa BB7.
     
  4. RD

    RD Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Specialized Demo8, Intense M3, I'm sure there are still a couple others floating around.
     
  5. Duzitall

    Duzitall Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    San Diego
    venerable Bullit and the '02 DHR are good ones
     
  6. konahucker43

    konahucker43 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    central NY
    why wouldnt you want a thru axle? they are sweet, i dont think id ride one after i saw my friends qr come undone and the wheel fall off whilst racing the NCS snowshoe.
     
  7. DH SB RIDER

    DH SB RIDER Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    The reason that i don't want a thu-axle is because i just got a ck for my 01 kona stab, and im thinking of getting a better dh frame. So i was wondering if there is any frames that i would not have to buy/build a new wheel!
     
  8. bballe336

    bballe336 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    MA
    just get a new hub. its worth the money for a stiffer frame.
     
  9. DIRTWRKS

    DIRTWRKS Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Location:
    Canada EH !

    Actually the M3 uses a 12mm thru axle ! .... but the Demo 8 does not.
     
  10. TWISTED

    TWISTED Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,102
    Mountain Cycle ShockWave 9point5.
    It has replaceable drop-outs, QR, 12mm, or 12mm floater.

    That's your best deal.
     
  11. SBDHrida

    SBDHrida Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    aMERica
    your ck probably doesn't even have the right width to fit a new frame
     
  12. Jm_

    Jm_ Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    149 / 1,180
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,592
    Location:
    AK
    This is like saying, "I bought a box of 9mm rounds, and now I want to buy a 9mm handgun to fit my bullets".
     
  13. DH SB RIDER

    DH SB RIDER Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Ya i no what ur saying....if im willing to put down 2600 on a frame...then i should just get a 200$ hub with it, DONT BE CHEAP lol.
     
  14. skinny mike

    skinny mike Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    6,417
    sell the chris king, get a hadley and all of your problems will be solved...
     
  15. vitox

    vitox Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    Santiago du Chili

    you can run a QR on the 135mm intense rear end


    karps are qr

    pdc fr is also avail in qr

    old v10 has a qr option
     
  16. DH SB RIDER

    DH SB RIDER Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Yea im thinking about the m3 but it might be too much of a bike for me.
     
  17. zmtber

    zmtber Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,437
    no its not it will make you 10 times faster lol jkjk, hey don't sell the criss king hub unless you are going to get the same or more $....have you talked to john what is the price on the m3
     
  18. arboc!

    arboc! Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,294
    Location:
    spokane, WA
    punctuation and good spelling are your friend.
     
  19. DH SB RIDER

    DH SB RIDER Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    Yes, seriously Zack learn how to punctuate! Dude i don't think that we should have the whole teownam go up on friday because we don't want to be held up, and we want to get down the damn trail by the time it gets dark. Unlike last time...
     
  20. Hans

    Hans Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Scott High Octane (as far as i know)
     
  21. PatBranch

    PatBranch Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    8 / 7
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    10,461
    Location:
    wine country
    My friend has a scott high octane 2. When he test rode at Arts Cyclery in SLO, CA he blew out the manipoo kingpin in the parking lot. They took the same fork off the other octane 2 and it lasted a few days only. Then he got a shiver. And then a dhx5.

    It is on the heavy side, but its burly. Is it a race bike or a huck bike? His fork is really slack and its the the headtube sleeve iis in the steepest position.
     
  22. Shmoe

    Shmoe Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada eh?
    My V10 has a standard rear axle. I dont mind it at all. Could always go bolt on if i had any problems.
     
  23. konahucker43

    konahucker43 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    central NY
    or just get azonic outlaws
     
  24. Ciaran

    Ciaran Fear my banana

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 8
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9,853
    Location:
    So Cal
    There you go. If the CK hub is in good condition you can probably sell it for a good price.
     
  25. Spunger

    Spunger Git yer dumb questions here

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,258
    Location:
    805
    My M1 has QR or 12mm TA options, just change the spacers.

    But seriously, if it's a king you should be able to get enough money out of it to get a Hadley/DT Swiss FR/Hope Bulb for another spacing if needed. I've had no issues running 12mm or QR except for time to change the tire AND stiffness. The 12mm is pretty stiff.

    I'd wait until you got the frame. I already had a new QR wheel built up (hope bulb QR) and got my M1. I wanted a stiffer rear, so I got the 12mm option for the hub. I say the above options as they can all be converted from 12mm to QR or the Hadley can go larger if needed.
     
  26. sn0wboarder

    sn0wboarder Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    NJ
    good luck with that. 99% of the time you are going to lose money. Just suck it up. Hadley is just as good as King.