Quantcast

Tire Choices

paintmc

Chimp
Sep 23, 2009
Hey All,

I am not an expert on the subject of tires but would like to know what tire would be ideal for the terrain I ride. I ride 99% DH @ Bromont Qc. It is as many know littered with alot of loose rocks, big knarly rock gardens and some hard pack berms and trails. I find myself slipping alot on roots and rocks. I currently ride a Banshee Scream with 2.7F / 2.5R Nevegals. They have been ok but not great (could be due to my skill level also).

I don't mind spending for good tires and don't mind having to change them often if need be. I was looking at the 42duro Minion DHF or DHR....Not sure which would be better. They seem to have similar descriptions and purposes.

Not sure it makes a difference but I am 230lbs, so that being said between me and the Scream.....Its a train come down the hill...lol

Cheers,
Big T :thumb:

SirRidealot

Chimp
Sep 23, 2009
The Bike Park
DHF means front and DHR means rear. I ride DHF in both front and rear which at least in theory should give me better acceleration (lower rolling resistance) at the expense of a bit of braking power.

I like the tires and find that the side knobs don't break of as easily as on the Michelin DH16 I was using before.

paintmc

Chimp
Sep 23, 2009
That's what I thought but wasn't sure. It seems reading around that alot of people use the DHF for both front and rear ? Is there a reason for that ? Or just preference ?

Also looking on the Maxxis website I see that the DHF is 2 ply casting, DHR is single ply. Why the difference if they are meant to be run together.

thanks

norbar

KESSLER PROBLEM. Just cause
Jun 7, 2007
Warsaw :/
DHF/High roller combo if you use your brakes ;) DHFx2 if not ;) You could also try the new schwables in guey gluey compound. Seem them in schladming and they look really good.

slyfink

Turbo Monkey
Sep 16, 2008
Ottawa, Canada