Quantcast

Tires?

bluebug32

Asshat
Jan 14, 2005
Floating down the Hudson
I have a cross bike with cross tires, but would like some dedicated road tires too. I'm a very recreational rider and won't be putting any big miles on, therefore, the tires must be easy to change (Kevlar) and not too expensive.

Recommendations?

Goddy43

Monkey
Apr 21, 2005
I have a cross bike with cross tires, but would like some dedicated road tires too. I'm a very recreational rider and won't be putting any big miles on, therefore, the tires must be easy to change (Kevlar) and not too expensive.

Recommendations?
I've been using the Vittoria Zaffiro Pro for two almost two years now and I like them. They came stock on my bike though so I have zero basis for comparison.

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/profile.cfm?SKU=16524&subcategory_ID=5420

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
I love the Vredstein Fortezza SE -- you can get them at performance for $25. They handle really well in tough curves, but damn, they don't last very long.

I like the Specialized Armadillos I just got, but I haven't taken them into the mountains yet, so not sure about handling. I have ridden through a buttload of glass and they were fine.

If you just want an inexpensive tire, try the lower-end Continentals. They work well and last.

DirtyMike

Turbo Fluffer
Aug 8, 2005
My own world inside my head
tough to say what brands to stay away from, usually want to make sure you keep a hi thread count though, thats helps make the tires more supple and flat resistant. So far my personall favorites are Maxxis with a 120 tpi and the vittorias with ther 220 TPI. My perosonal dislike at this time is the continental grand prix, 80 tpi and its a Natural rubber compound. Not very flat resistant, and and wears very fast. But at the same time it works hi speed velcro in a corner. Sounds like it too!!!

ito

Mr. Schwinn Effing Armstrong
Oct 3, 2003
Avoiding the nine to five