Quantcast

TLD AIR is it worth it?

Trekrules

Turbo Monkey
Apr 12, 2007
Yesterday i broke my carbon scott DH helmet and i held a concussion in my head after i crashed like dizziness and major headache:(.Here's a picture of the broken helmet

In the past i've broken a bell bellistic after 1 crash,big crack at the mouth piece.

Now after two broken bicycle helmets i don't want to wear any bicycle helmet again,i've got my eyes set on a TLD AIR and what i've heard they are pretty light for a MX helmet tipping the scales at 1360g:thumb:.They are better priced than their bicycle helmets and are DOT/SNELL rated,i think some DH racers like JD Swangnen,Bryceland and Kyle Marshall using them.

Is it worth to buy one since they are good priced at 287 euro for the 2010 models on CRC?

frango

Turbo Monkey
Jun 13, 2007
It seems You were lucky, man!
Your helmet did what it was suppesed to do... absorded the impact.
I am not an expert in MX helmets, but from what I've seen, You do not ride rock gardens on MX bike so often ike You do on DH bike. (Ertzberh Rodeo doesn't count ;) ).
So, MX helmets may be done in a little bit different way than MTB helmets... my point is, that they maybe too strong. And another crash may lead to serious brain damage :|
But, it's just my theory ;)

PS1. ventilation is another story

matsO

Monkey
Aug 26, 2006
Seems like a serious crash, I have bumped my head against some rocks in my time but never with this kind of destruction of the helmet.

Why not go for the POC stuff? they have penetration protection as well as some other smart design.

www.pocski.com

juanbeegas

Monkey
May 6, 2008
Singapore
I think it a little weird that it's mostly the bike riders that usually turn to TLD when they look into Moto helmets and the moto riders look at other brands. Not trying to start anything here, just interested in thoughts on this...