Quantcast

To clip or not to clip... that is the question

mr2monster

Chimp
Jul 23, 2005
I'm just starting out and I plan on doing a lot of trail riding (not trial... trail) and XC along with some freeriding (if i can figure out the difference).

My question is, the bike that I'm buying (Specialized Stupmjumper FSR) comes with clipped pedals. This means I have to do one of 2 things...

1. Buy shoes so i can use the clips
2. Buy new pedals...

My question would be, what do you recommend for the type of riding I'm planning on doing?

jacksonpt

Turbo Monkey
Jul 22, 2002
Vestal, NY
Definitely clip in... it's the single biggest thing I've done to improve my riding (besides riding more often). Being clipped in make your pedaling more effective and physically attaches you to the bike, making it much easier to control in rough/fast section of trail.

I've been know to skip rides if I can't be clipped in - it's that big of a deal to me.

stinkyboy

Plastic Santa
Jan 6, 2005
¡Phoenix!
I disagree. A beginner should run flats and not be worried about being "stuck" to his bike in rough sections until his skills improve.

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
When I first started, I went right to clipless, don't regret it one bit, tho I did crash a lot cuz I failed to unclipped.

After a month and several injuries, someone mentioned in passing that I could loosen the pedal -- like a ski binding -- and voila, easier exit.

Wish the LBS had bother telling me that :mumble:

mr2monster

Chimp
Jul 23, 2005
hmm. looks like shoes are winning so far... I know the more practical way to find out would be to ride both and see what I like the most but i'm not really in a position to do that..

I've got another quick question. I'm ordering the bike soon (as in next check) and I was wondering what size I am. I've heard both medium and large at different LBS so I'm torn on the issue.