kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI

Leppah

Turbo Monkey
Mar 12, 2008
Utar
THat's awesome. I can't wait until my little baby girl is big enough to get out there to teach. I have a little while though. She's only 10 months old right now.

kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI
Yeah you have some time....

I may have jumped the gun a little taking him last year a few times, it wasn't until yesterday which was his 6th time going all together that he was able to link some turns together. It's a lot of fun though.

TreeSaw

Mama Monkey
Oct 30, 2003
Dancin' over rocks n' roots!
:thumb: Very cool!!!

We've debated taking Sydney. Sq-Earl skied when he was younger and we all snowmobile (she just got her own for Christmas) and snowshoe so we already have some winter hobbies, but I think she'd enjoy it and it's much easier to learn when you're younger.

woodsguy

gets infinity MPG
Mar 18, 2007
Sutton, MA
I started skiing when I was 6. When I was an snowboarding instructor in college my best students were 6-9. It seemed like the older they get the longer it took them to pick it up. The college kids were really tough.

kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI
I noticed the same when I instructed, 7-9 year old girls picked it up no problem, little boys were a bit more stubborn and didn't listen as well.

My boy turned 6 in august, snowboarded a little last year, and 3 times so far this year, he finally figured out how to link his turns together yesterday, so he should really get the hang of it quickly now.

ICEBALL585

Bacontard
Sep 8, 2009
.:585:.
My dad had me on skis at age 2 and I had my first season pass when I was 3. Although my grandpa was a ski patrol and my dad was the race coach so my season pass was free. I was a ski instructor when I was in high school and my thought was usually the earlier you can get the kids on skis/boards the better.

skibunny24

Enthusiastic Receiver of Reputation
Jun 16, 2010
Renton, WA