Quantcast

Top notch Point and shoots?

Kevin

Turbo Monkey
Some background info...

Im a hobby photographer and I take my hobby semi seriously, meaning I love taking beautifull photos but Im not using 5000 Euro bodys with L glass yet, allthough I am thinking about an upgrade from my (ex) Rebel XTi with kitlens, 10/22mm canon and 70/300mm Tamron.

The problem is my gear was stolen last winter travelling in Latin America and Im still waiting for my insurance to show me the money.
In the mean time Im working all over Scandinavia, currently the Norwegian westcoast and Im missing out on a lot of beautifull photos which bothers me cause Ill probably never go here again...

Any suggestions/experiances?

Last edited:

Kevin

Turbo Monkey
Do you need a super-zoom, or are you looking for something more for wide angles?
I used my 10/22mm a lot more then the 70/300mm so if Id have to make a choice Id say wide angle.

The Panasonic DMC-ZS1 has great bang for the buck (last year's model but the current version doesn't really give anything significant in the still photography features) - you can find them for less than $200 USD shipped around here:

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/ZS1/ZS1A.HTM
I have a Panasonic Lumix DMC fs24, bought it after my DSLR got stolen and I didnt wanna spend a lot of money on a camera. (bought it in Rio de Janeiro during Carnaval :D)
Anyways, I wasnt impressed with the image quality at all and after a few weeks the screen broke, not eager on buying another Panasonic after that...

Edit: After looking a bit on the internet the Canon might be a little bit much for a point and shoot, Ill be buying a new DSLR as well so a smalller cam without the zoom might be a better id...

Last edited:

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
I wouldn't stress over this decision too much. There are many little compacts that take great photos.