Quantcast

torque wrenches?

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by gemini2k, Aug 23, 2005.

  1. gemini2k

    gemini2k Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    10 / 108
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,523
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Urge to kill rising. yesterday i snapped the head off one of my axel pinch bolts and today i snapped a part of my linkage hardware. Of course part of the problem is the fact that in there infinite wisdom cannondale decided to make them out of aluminum, but i realized unless i want to throw my bike off my roof in a fit of rage i should get a torque wrench so i stop doing this. Any reccomendations? or should i just get a better touch?
    ________
    SC2 REPLAYS
     
    #1 -   Aug 23, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. likwid

    likwid Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Get a torque wrench unless you want to continue breaking things.

    Craftsman has a cheap one.
    S'all you need.
     
  3. -dustin

    -dustin boring

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 1
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    7,166
    Location:
    austin
    stop hamfisting, and get a torque wrench.

    the real question should be, click or beam type?
     
  4. Spunger

    Spunger Git yer dumb questions here

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,258
    Location:
    805
    well beam will be cheaper, and it's easier to apply the correct torque, BUT the click type, if a decent one for inch lbs (craftsman, $60-80) will just notify you of a click that you've hit the correct torque.

    I say get a click type, they last forever as long as you take care of them so why be cheap? Bike hardware isn't (the bolts you snapped) so spend some $$$ to protect your investments.
     
  5. fiddy_ryder

    fiddy_ryder Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,655
    Location:
    Hollywood
    and if a craftsman breaks bring it back and get a new one..
     
  6. likwid

    likwid Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    I did this with a 30yo craftsman hammer.
    The dude at the store almost **** himself.
     
  7. gemini2k

    gemini2k Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    10 / 108
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,523
    Location:
    San Francisco
    anyone ever tried replace the interally threaded shock mounting hardware with like a solid piece with an acorn nut on the end? I wonder if that would stronger cause the other ****'s hollow. Would like a piece from homedepot be up to it. I figure thatd be cheaper, and i wouldn't have to wait a week for them to ship it.
    ________
    MONTANA MEDICAL MARIJUANA DISPENSARY
     
    #7 -   Aug 23, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  8. spacemanspiff06

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    roanoke va
    those bolts don't need to be anywhere near as tight as it would take to snap the head off those bolts. just stop hamfisting it. as much force as you can do with ONE finger at the end of a 6" alen key is more then enough. for the shock mount bolts go down to a fastener shop and get a steel replacement nut and bolt. it might look ghetto with all the washers and all but it will never bend/break and it will cost you all of $2.50, which is cheeper then homedepot and will be a higher grade steel.
    BTW why do companys use HOLLOW alu. bolts for that? it doesn't save that much weight and i allways snap those things in a season. WTF?
     
  9. gemini2k

    gemini2k Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    10 / 108
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,523
    Location:
    San Francisco
    yeah aluminum bolts on fr or dh bikes are ridiculous. I inspected my bike and realized that the vast majority of them are so, i dunno what theyre thinking. :nope:
    ________
    Ecigarette 123
     
    #9 -   Aug 24, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  10. sanjuro

    sanjuro Tube Smuggler

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    17,472
    Location:
    SF
    BTW, has anyone tried the Syntace or the Magura (I think) torque wrenches?
     
  11. partsbara

    partsbara Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,996
    Location:
    getting Xtreme !

    yeah, i have the syntace... fvcking awesome tool... pretty spendy tho'... i got mine here in germany, but i was stll about 150 with the allen bits...

    expensive, but worth the $$$ imho...
     
  12. gemini2k

    gemini2k Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    10 / 108
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,523
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #12 -   Aug 24, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  13. Repack

    Repack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Aluminum is rediculous. I remember that when alloy crank bolts were all the rage you had to press the cranks on w/ the steel bolts and then replace them with the alloy's. Stupid. But as someone else said, pinch bolts do not need to be very tight at all. That type of clamping interface is very strong. The torque specs are so low on pinch bolts that you may have trouble finding a wrench that can meassure them accurately. Any wrench that can will be expensive.
    Not to brag (oh hell, I am bragging!) several years ago I bought a Snap-On made WrenchForce torque wrench for $50 from a rep. Retail was ~$200. The original WF stuff was so nice. Basically all SnapOn/Bluepoint stuff that I could get at 50% off. I miss thise days.
     
  14. fiddy_ryder

    fiddy_ryder Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,655
    Location:
    Hollywood
    youll be fine,. make sure theyre grade 8,, the 8 will be stamped on the head.
     
  15. dvasis

    dvasis Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    out hunting hippies
    i am 135, and i sheared one of those bastards right off. but thats what happens when you overshoot a road gap....