Quantcast

Total Lunar Eclipse tonight!

r464

Turbo Monkey
Oct 17, 2006
2,608
0
Earth
I think that we're going to be out of luck with the overcast skies tonight, too.

Well, the next one comes in 2010...
 

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
21,680
453
NC
It has officially completely clouded over... oh well. Didn't get any good shots of the eclipse - been cloudy all night and the couple I took through the clouds aren't any good.

Here's the color before it started, though.

 

MikeD

Leader and Demogogue of the Ridemonkey Satinists
Oct 26, 2001
10,364
404
chez moi
Is this when Bonnie Tyler's hair passes between the moon and my heart?
 

DamienC

Turbo Monkey
Jun 6, 2002
1,166
0
DC
We set up our telescope in the guest bedroom to watch out the window. Nice views of Saturn too (trailing the moon to the bottom left).
 

Mike B.

Turbo Monkey
Oct 5, 2001
1,522
0
State College, PA
Perfectly clear here. Don't know if any of my shots came out, still downloading. Got too damn cold out with a real feel of 2°F but fun while it lasted.
 

MTBracer

Monkey
Nov 19, 2007
192
0
Massachusetts
I tried taking a pic for all to see....but my camera sucks.....the best I could get was a dim blurr. Wicked clear night for me though. I wish I had a better camera
 

syadasti

i heart mac
Apr 15, 2002
12,701
290
VT
The event isn't over until just after midnight ET. Right now the bright crescent is emerging:

The moon will enter Earth's umbral shadow (the full shadow) at 8:43 p.m. ET (that's 7:43 p.m. Central, 6:43 p.m. Mountain and 5:43 p.m. Pacific) on Wednesday, Feb. 20. It will appear as though an ever-larger bite is being taken out of the moon.

Some 78 minutes later, the moon will slip into full eclipse. About 51 minutes later, a bright scallop will appear as the moon starts emerging. It will be completely out of the umbral shadow at 9:09 p.m. Pacific time, which is 12:09 a.m. ET on Thursday morning