Quantcast

training for a triathlon

nikwho

Monkey
Jun 16, 2006
Flagstaff, Az
ok, so next month is the mountain man triathlon up here in flag. Im not ready for the full length, but i think im going to do the short one just to get the experience. what i want to do is train for the next 13 months and really be ready next year! So, training for the running and riding im ok with! I am a total noob to swiming. would it really be beneficial for my to get into some advanced swim lessons or just go out there and knock out laps? Im gonna need a little practice with the whold tumble and kick off of the wall to turn around, but that is irrelavant when it comes to swiming across a lake and back.. im jsut thinking that some of you may do a lot of swiming and could help me out a little bit! i would apprieciate any help!

reflux

Turbo Monkey
Mar 18, 2002
G14 Classified
I can speak from firsthand experience...TAKE SOME LESSONS!!! Open water swimming is an entirely different beast than lap swimming.

Zutroy

Turbo Monkey
Dec 9, 2004
Ventura,CA
Best bet is to find a masters swim team, here is a link to the website, you can look up clubs in your area www.usms.org .

You'll probably find a bunch of triathlete there, get your technique down in the pool, alot fo times they have open water clinics, or you can make friends with someone that can help you out.

OPen water is different in that you have to use other markings to help you navagate. Somtimes you have to deal with currents, and obviously surf soometimes if your in the ocean.

reflux

Turbo Monkey
Mar 18, 2002
G14 Classified
nikwho said:
thats what i thought... so, what are you saying is different? are you jsut saying that its more strenuous?
Several things caught me offguard when I did my first open water swim
1) As Zutroy pointed out, you have to "sight" the buoys as you swim
2) There are no lane markers so you may not swim straight
3) Currents could put you off course