Quantcast

Training/Nutrition dedication for XC racing

SoCA

Chimp
Jan 23, 2002
OC Barrios
I'm looking for a new challange. I've competed at high levels in almost all the sports I have ever seriously taken up in the past (ice hockey, DH racing, MX, even paintball) and now taking a look at XC. It's a new challange that looks interesting and probably be the most physically/mentally demanding sport I will ever compete in so far.
I've been riding for a few years now, all for the pure love of mountain biking. I just recently started DH racing but also looking at the XC discipline but wondering what the training and nutrition dedication is. If I do this, I want to do it to the best of my abilities and probably go into races more then "just to have fun".
Of course I would start out in the 27-34 beginner class and work myself up.
Can some of the hardcore or dedicated XC racers give me a idea of their own personal training/nutrition regiment so I can see what I gotta do to be somewhat competitive.
I'm in fairly good shape now and ride very regularly but want to see how much work I REALLY gotta do.
Thanks everyone.

Heidi

Der hund ist laut und braun
Aug 22, 2001
Bend, Oregon
It wouldn't do much good for me to tell you what I do because individuals are so extremely different that my nutrition/training would probably not work for you. The best thing to do would be to buy some training books. Joe Friels "Training Bible for Mountain Bikers" is a good start.

Basically, depending on what your goal are and after assessing your existing strengths and weaknesses (are you good at hills, a little weak in endurance, slow on DH.....) you could then tailor your own plan to help you become a better racer.