Quantcast

Triple Crown Fork question....

proworkz

Chimp
Aug 31, 2008
Reno, Nevada
Is there a minimum amount of fork tube you must have showing on top of upper clamp on a triple crown fork?

I am new to DH but have been riding Moto for a long time. I don't race anymore with moto but I like to jump ramps a lot. I set my fork tubes on my moto flush with the upper triple clamp for jumping.

I had my fork tube on my Demo 9 with about 1" showing. Tonight I put it flush and was going to test it out tomorrow. I am sure both moto and DH settings are similar. For moto more tube showing up top equal quicker turns. Less tube showing equals more stability at higher speeds..

Thanks for any help or suggestions....

Dave

Bicyclist

Turbo Monkey
Apr 4, 2004
SB
Is there a minimum amount of fork tube you must have showing on top of upper clamp on a triple crown fork?

I am new to DH but have been riding Moto for a long time. I don't race anymore with moto but I like to jump ramps a lot. I set my fork tubes on my moto flush with the upper triple clamp for jumping.

I had my fork tube on my Demo 9 with about 1" showing. Tonight I put it flush and was going to test it out tomorrow. I am sure both moto and DH settings are similar. For moto more tube showing up top equal quicker turns. Less tube showing equals more stability at higher speeds..

Thanks for any help or suggestions....

Dave
Basically, you have to have enough room below the bottom crown so that the fork has enough room to compress without bottoming out on the crown. For modern forks with 203mm of travel, this means having about 205mm of exposed stanchion tube.

The thing that really effects handling is where the fork sits relative to the bottom crown - you can use spacers to alter where the top crown sits, and some bikes have longer headtubes, so that isn't always a sure-fire method to determining fork length.