Quantcast

Tubeless Question....

jebfour

Turbo Monkey
Jun 19, 2003
CLT, NC
I'm using Mavic 3.1 UST rims and have had Huthison Octopus Tubeless tires on them since they were new. They never leaked air and I never had a problem.

Yesterday I put on a pair of Maxxis Minion DHF's (a non-tubeless tire) and mounted them up without tubes on my UST rims (with 2 scoops of Stans on each tire). This morning I went out to check on them and while they were not flat, they had most definitely lost quite a bit of air. What can I do to prevent these things from leaking?:help:

Also (here comes the dumbest question) when I took off my old tires the Stans that I had put in them months ago was just as fluid (liquidy?) as when I put them in the tires 7-8 months ago. Is this normal? Sorry for the dumb question, but I'm still pretty new to the tubeless thing....

Thanks!

J

JRB

I just use latex and washer fluid and don't have any problems with them. It is likely the tires and a little more latex and a few day of adding air should make them fine. I have a Tioga tire and a WTB tire on non UST rims with strips and latex, and haven't had any issues. It may just take a few days. Riding them should help.

DirtyMike

Turbo Fluffer
Aug 8, 2005
My own world inside my head
Read the back of the stans Bottle. It will talk about how to Shake the tire. Also Put the tire under water to see were the Bubbles are coming from. then move the tire around so the fluid covers that area. Also try runing about 60 psi while your doing that. Once you find no more leaks then lower your air pressure to a desired level

J

JRB

Not to discount DirtyMike, because he is mostly right, but I have a friend that blew the wall out of a 3.1 with 60 lbs of air. I wouldn't go much higher than 45 or 50 lbs. That is enough air to blow it up.

jebfour

Turbo Monkey
Jun 19, 2003
CLT, NC