Quantcast

tubeless tire Q&A session

nohbody

Chimp
Mar 5, 2005
Seattle
Yeah... I know zero about tubeless tires other than they exist. I just want some background info, or some handy linkey's on tubeless tires/rims.

Mainly, can I convert regular rims and tires to tubeless with some $$$ and luvin?

What are the usual performance gains associated with running tubeless over "normal" tire setup?

Are there any major pitfalls to using tubeless tires?

That is all.

buildyourown

Turbo Monkey
Feb 9, 2004
South Seattle
www.notubes.com

or search for "ghetto tubeless" in th archives.

basically, you need a rim strip and some sealant. You can buy it all from stans for $30 a wheel, or you can make your own out of BMX tubes and latex. I recommend making your own strip and buying stans sealant if you are hard on $$$.

i'm still new to this too, but, the setup is way lighter. your suuposed to be able to run lower pressures, but i've found the opposite.
oh, and its messy and requires an air compressor.

bullcrew

3 Dude Approved
It has less rotating mass better feel when cornering, quicker acceleration and you can feel the terrain and the bikes handing alot better.
I run the deemax ex729's with tubeless (stans rim strips and sealant) with either my Maxxis minions or kendas depending on the situation.
Both seal easy and reduce weight as well as make a big difference in the overall performance.
I ride DH and FR plus do urban hucking and have yet to burp a tire.
I dropped a 9' stair gap to road flat 2 weeks ago and no problem, I went stair to stair and no problem. I rode the grade at 45+ mph over doll head rocks and nasty goat thors from the cellular towers down to the river on a practice trail here and no problems.
Stans tubeless is by all accounts the best upgrade and performance item done thus far to my bike.