Quantcast

Turkey Frying

Gunner

Monkey
May 6, 2003
Framingham, MA
The best holiday of the year, Thanksgiving, happens to fall on my 30th birthday this year so in celebration I am giving it a go at frying a turkey. This is my first time with this, but I've had some good advice from DW himself....but I'd love to hear some tips/recommendations/recipes from those seasoned turkey frying veterans!

and yes, I know all the basic procedures and 'OMG YOU'RE GOING TO DIE OR BURN THE HOUSE DOWN' rules like:
a.) thaw the sum-bitch before frying
b.) don't wear a speedo around boiling oil
c.) don't fry in your living room

ICEBALL585

Bacontard
Sep 8, 2009
.:585:.
Make sure when you're measuring out the amount of oil needed you account for the size of the turkey that you frying. An overflow of oil is not very fun to clean up!

Also with the rules you posted both B and C are only for the beginners :D

kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI
Make sure when you're measuring out the amount of oil needed you account for the size of the turkey that you frying. An overflow of oil is not very fun to clean up!

Also with the rules you posted both B and C are only for the beginners :D
Completely thaw turkey, set turkey in the fryer, add water until turkey is completely covered, remove turkey, mark the amount of water in the fryer, remove water, fill fryer with oil up to mark.

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
fry it in the basement next to the furnace. no need to thaw, throw that sucker straight into the fryer from the freezer. be sure to chain smoke the whole time.

IH8Rice

I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!
Aug 2, 2008
Im over here now
Completely thaw turkey, set turkey in the fryer, add water until turkey is completely covered, remove turkey, mark the amount of water in the fryer, remove water, fill fryer with oil up to mark.
this is pretty much all you need to know.

we use peanut oil too which is sometimes hard to find in the large amount that youll need.