TV - Speaker connection not working

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology' started by stoney, Apr 14, 2018.

  1. stoney

    stoney Part of the unwashed, middle-American horde

    Rep/Likes:
    111 / 967
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    12,632
    Location:
    Colorado
    I have another screwy A/V question. I can't get the audio from my TV out to my sound bar. Sound bar is a standard Vizio that works with everything. Link to image of the TV below:
    Https://photos.app.goo.gl/88HWGEJkDiRdSni73
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. Toshi

    Toshi Harbinger of Doom

    Rep/Likes:
    175 / 1,179
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,729
    Is that black connection above and right of the coax an S/PDIF audio out? If so then that’s what you need to string to your sound bar via an optical cable. Can you post your tv model so that we can see the manual/diagram?
     
  3. stoney

    stoney Part of the unwashed, middle-American horde

    Rep/Likes:
    111 / 967
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    12,632
    Location:
    Colorado
    TCL LE-FHDE3010 https://g.co/kgs/LAVHwH
     
  4. Toshi

    Toshi Harbinger of Doom

    Rep/Likes:
    175 / 1,179
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,729
  5. stoney

    stoney Part of the unwashed, middle-American horde

    Rep/Likes:
    111 / 967
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    12,632
    Location:
    Colorado
  6. Toshi

    Toshi Harbinger of Doom

    Rep/Likes:
    175 / 1,179
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,729
    Digital 3 is a coax optical in. That should work.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  7. StiHacka

    StiHacka Compensating for something

    Rep/Likes:
    303 / 2,933
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9,598
    Location:
    i͓̽t͓̽ i͓̽s͓̽ fu͓̽l͓̽l͓̽ o͓̽f s͓̽t͓̽a͓̽r͓̽s͓̽
    Try it nao?
     
    • Useful Useful x 2
  8. Kevin

    Kevin Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    72 / 354
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,930
    Location:
    In Holland sticking my finger in a dike...
    HDMI?
     
  9. Westy

    Westy the teste

    Rep/Likes:
    422 / 2,650
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    35,557
    Location:
    Sleazattle
    Speakers work in the frequency domain, the TV is probably set to the time domain. Check your Laplace transformer. If the speaker is digital you may need to pick up a Fourier transformer.
     
    #9 -   Apr 14, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2018
  10. Toshi

    Toshi Harbinger of Doom

    Rep/Likes:
    175 / 1,179
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,729
    “That should work” are famous last words in AV... I’m going to post about my own woes in my thread. Short version is that I’ll probably have a receiver to give away but in looking over stoney’s sound bar setup (with built in amp) I don’t think it’d help him.