Quantcast

Tyre insert experiences / advice

Floor Tom

Monkey
Sep 28, 2009
New Zealand
Are many of you running tyre inserts? Cush core or something else? What has your experience been like? What the pressure are you running and what did you run before? Anyone used them and then gone back? Dh bike or trail bike, I'm keen to hear your thoughts

I've been using Cushcore XC inserts in my trail bike for a few months now, I did it because I raced downhill on that bike and rode it in the bike park. Run front and rear with Maxxis Exo+ tyres, still not solid enough on the rear to be honest, the side walls are showing quite a bit of wear and have been weeping sealant. Pressures went from 27 - 29 to 23—25 and while I did like the feel of them they do add a noticeable amount of drag, now that bike doesn't need to be as burly I'm thinking I might stick with one in the back and run an Exo+ on the front. Not sure if that will unbalance things, be interesting to see.

Now I have a downhill bike and have fitted normal cush core front and rear, might try the xc one in the front when I take it out of the trail bike.

Floor Tom

Monkey
Sep 28, 2009
New Zealand
Yeah, I had DD before but they don't make a DHR2 29x2.4 DD MaxTerra, only a MaxGrip which is too soft for the trail bike and would mean I either need to run sticky rubber on the front as well or a gripper rear tyre than front tyre, neither of which I'm very interested in.

Cerberus75

Monkey
Feb 18, 2017
I run an Assegai DD maxxgripp F DHR2 exo+ R with cushcore. When I kill the DHR I'm going to switch to DHF in the rear unless Maxxis puts out a DD tire for the Rear soon. I ride really rocky trails. I dropped about 4 psi with cushcore the protection is good haven't broke a rim since I started using the inserts. The lack of tire rebound keeps the tires glued to the trail.

jstuhlman

bagpipe wanker
Dec 3, 2009
Cackalacka du Nord