Quantcast

Uh, am I wierd?

Kornphlake

Turbo Monkey
Oct 8, 2002
Portland, OR
I bought a closeout model BMX bike that I am too ashamed to post pictures of but the price was so low I couldn't resist. So I built a little dirt jump in my yard and jumped it a few dozen times. Keep in mind I've been riding strictly MTB's for the last 12 years or so. I was feeling like I was getting pretty good on my little teeny double 1 foot high and 3 feet long on the new BMX. I decided just for kicks to get out the big bike and take a whack at it, I immediately noticed horrendous pedal bob, a handlebar so high it nearly gave me a nose bleed, and steering so slow I could barely make my way down the run in on course. What to my suprise despite all the deficiencies of a FS MTB I was able to clear the jump with more finesse and style on it than on the BMX. Is that normal for any of you? I'm just feeling like I should have more control over the little bike in the air and I just don't, will practice make the feeling go away?

Toshi

butthole powerwashing evangelist
Oct 23, 2001
unless you're used to them, it's normal for bmx bikes (and especially mod trials bikes!) to feel odd, tiny, and twitchy. mountain bikes are more relaxing :D

Ice Bullit

Monkey
Mar 16, 2003
Seattle, WA
I guess if you ride it enough you could theroetically get used to anything. I guess its different comming from a BMX past rather than jumping into BMX from MTB :D I tried that and it felt wack but I got a little used to it but could never understand why anyone would like the little things other than they are cheap. I would rather get a 26" ridgid before getting a BMX bike (I rode my bros for a while).

Drew360

Chimp
Nov 4, 2003
California