Quantcast

Unlikely comparison: 888 RC2X vs. 2009 40 RC2?

I've been running a 888 RC2X since 2007 and it's been so good to me, but I now have the opportunity to get a new 2009 40 for a scandalously low price. I've spent all day looking over reviews and discussions of both products, but there's not much in the way of direct comparison.

The 888 is so well sealed that the dust on my stanctions doesn't even get sticky with oil and the fork only needs service once per year (even then, it probably doesn't need it). It would hurt to give up this level of reliability, but I'll do it if there's a world of better damping out there that I've yet to discover.

On the other hand, dampers aren't brain surgery and there's no reason a damper that came out in 2006 is inherently inferior to one from just three years later. Maybe the performance is close enough that I should stick with my VERY trusty 888.

So, what do you think: Keep the 888 or replace it and why do you feel that way? Thanks!

William42

fork ways
Jul 31, 2007
The 888rc2x is without a doubt more reliable then pretty much any other fork on the market.

All my friends 40's feel pretty fuggin good and are damn reliable though. They feel better then the 888 (which fall through their travel then ramp up hard, doesn't feel great on the fast stuff or rocky stuff imo, just good on the hucks). The 40 smooths out the trail and takes the big stuff alot better without falling over the front end!

But the 888 feels pretty rad too, and will feel the same in 20 years (and still be ridable in 20 years) so if 0 maint. is that important to you, I'd go with the 888.

Last edited:
Don't do it unless you're ok with doing lots of maintenance on your fork. I had a 2006 66 RC2X for two seasons, and I've had a Boxxer team and a new totem with Mission Control DH since then, and I still count that 66 as the best fork I've ever had. Soooo goddamn bomb proof, good dampening and sexy looks. The old Zokes were the best.