Quantcast

UST Rookie -Leaky tire goes flat after a day

powderboy

Monkey
Jan 16, 2002
See Dar Hills, OOTah
I'm an UST rookie... both front and rear tires on my Cannondale Prophet 1000 go flat pretty quickly. My front is especially bad--only lasts about a day.

Any tips on re-seating the tires to make sure they seal properly?

S.K.C.

Turbo Monkey
Feb 28, 2005
Pa. / North Jersey
If the tires were factory installed, then it might be a bead seating issue along with the fact that they don't come with any sealant inside the tire - Whenever running UST it's always a good idea to use sealant such as Stan's (which is latex based but dries out quickly and must be re-applied every few weeks), OR what's even better is Bontrager Super Juice (which is Glycol based and takes at least 4 to 6 months to dry out before re-application.)

Take off your tires and check to see that the beads are clean, aren't torn or extremely kinked - I'm assuming that since you are riding a Cannondale Prophet it is coming from tha factory with OEM Maxxis High Roller Tubeless 2.35" tires - these tires have a folding Kevlar bead, so if there are some minor kinks here and there, it shouldn't be too much of a big deal...

Clean the inside of the rim lips where the tire bead will seat with a damp cloth and a touch of mild soap.

With each tire carefully re-install w/ soap bubbles from an agitated soap-water mixture.

After putting on one bead around the rim fill the inside of the tire w/ the appropriate amount of sealant - go to NoTubes.com to find out how much or it should say on Bontragers web site depending on what you use...

Re-inflate the tires with a compressed air system like the kind in the repair shop at your local bike shop.

Hold the tire in front of you vertically and every 10 degrees or so, shake the wheel back and forth (away from you, toward you, etc.) to coat the inside of the tire...

After all that you should be good to go.

Mike B.

Turbo Monkey
Oct 5, 2001
State College, PA