Quantcast

Volume Destroyer

JimmyTwoTimes

Monkey
Jun 26, 2003
West Hartford
Yo, I'm just getting into BMXing again after a long long hiatus. I picked up a 21" Volume Destroyer at what I think is a good deal - less than $400 new. Does anyone have any knowledge of this bike or any experience with it? I hope Volume makes good bikes, and I feel pretty confident this should be an awesome bike for a born-again BMXer.
Oh, I plan on riding primarily DJs and parks.

Jimmy

RandomV

Monkey
Feb 20, 2003
Indiana
Volume completes have become some of the best deals in BMX.

When they first started they had some trouble with frames cracking, but seem to have gotten those issues sorted out nicely.

Overall the completes are a little more heavy than a bike I would build for myself, but for the price it can't be beat.

Have fun!

Knuckleslammer

took the red pill
Yo dud, what do you use for a bike? Weight? I'm getting a Eastern Jane tuesday and I'm gonna go nuts on parts. I don't think I want ti this and ti that. I'm not gonna waste money on ti shiete, but what would you suggest to get the bike down to like 32 lbs. I was thinking of maybee getting a smaller drivetrain with a cassette hub. Not sure though. Are there duds doing sick stuff with 35lb bikes too? I'm new to this too. Thanks to Jimmy2x, I'm getting into another $$$ wasting habit :D

Knuckle

RandomV

Monkey
Feb 20, 2003
Indiana
Oh, shoot. Sorry, I never saw Knuck's post, so I never answered the question.

I ride a Terrible One Barcode, and it probably weighs around 32 lbs. The frame (an older model) weighs over 7 lbs, so unless I go crazy, that's about as light as it's gonna ever be. I have a race stem, light wheels and no pegs.

Cassette hubs are generally pretty heavy. You might consider a nice flip-flop hub and the new Odyssey 13 tooth freewheel with a 36 tooth sprocket. If you've got the cake, Profile cassettes are lighter, but also quite expensive.