Quantcast

VPP E-clip

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by rav400, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. rav400

    rav400 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 6
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    The Right Coast
    I was going over my DH bike (Intense M6) to get ready for this weekend. I noticed the front bolt in the VPP link starting to come out. I treaded the bolt back in, but the E-clip is gone. I'm planning to ride this weekend, so I won't be able to get a new one by Saturday. So, anyone know what size the clip is and if I can get something that would work for the weekend at a hardware store, or if I should just ride without it.
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. Cant Climb

    Cant Climb Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 10
    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,691
    Just carry a 5mm in your pocket and check bolt often.
     
  3. bengxe

    bengxe Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    2 / 30
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    upstate NY
    E clips aren't very expensive, maybe go to the hardware store and buy a few different sizes? Or measure and just get the right one?
     
  4. IH8Rice

    IH8Rice I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!

    Rep/Likes:
    62 / 485
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24,856
    Location:
    Im over here now
    take the bolt out and loctite it. go to the hardware store when its out too
     
  5. Orangesicle

    Orangesicle Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    I used my e clip groove as a sawcut guide to run my e13 chain guide nice and tight to the frame.
    Never had the bolts loosen and didn't loctite them.
    Oh wait. Yeah I DID loctite them eventually. Blue 242 compound.
    Make sure not to mix the grease and loctite... could cause unnecessary yelling and stuff.
    But the new bottom link system (Santa Cruz design) is way nicer.
    Does intense make it for the M6?
    UPGRADE!