Quantcast

Want to Race DH.

peacecoast

Chimp
Jul 21, 2010
New Hampshire
Hey guys,
I have a few questions about DH racing. First, if i don't have any sponsors(which I won't when I start), what do I wear for a jersey? As for pants, do i just wear moto pants? What kind of shoes do I need? I'm going to add a list of things i think i need to race, and if I'm missing something, please feel free to comment.
Bike
Helmet
Goggles
Chest Guard
Jersey
Arm Guards
Gloves
Pants
Leg Guards
Shoes
Thanks in advance

jekyll991

Monkey
Nov 30, 2009
Belfry, KY
As a fellow noob I just wear my moto jersey and a pair of basketball shorts.. I would wear my moto pants but it's normally too hot and I don't particularly care how "pro" I look.

I was wearing my old moto chest protector but it was overly cumberson, luckily my girlfriend was cool enough to get me some dainese body armor for my birthday (good thing the XS size was half the price of the other sizes haha).

For shoes I see lots of people wearing 5.10's but my old fox shoes have the perfect sole for those calf eating pins to fit in between the design or whatever..

Basically just show up at a race, sign up for beginner class and ride your own ride. If there are sections you're having trouble with during practice hop off and watch how other people go through the section, just be sure you aren't in the way at all.

Last edited:

norbar

KESSLER PROBLEM. Just cause
Jun 7, 2007
Warsaw :/
5.10s gripp a bit better than even the best skate shoes I tried. You can always buy only the stealth rubber and modify your shoes.
As for protection - more is always better but its your choice. Check race regulations for the required stuff.
Moto pants are good because they dont tear but shorts from the same material are imho better. Avoid fox clothing - low quality from my experiance.

snowaddict91

Chimp
Sep 8, 2008
Gunnison, Co