Quantcast

Welcome to me :)

RadRat

Chimp
Mar 13, 2005
Hi to all Ridemonkey members,

I found this forum a few days ago and have been searching the threads here. You have a great wealth of info and a good active community, looks like I will be spending some time here :)

Please excuse me while I drag up a couple of old threads to add my opinion or ask further questions.

Cheers,
RadRat

Long rant about me......

I'm an old BMX boy (From Tasmania, southern island state of Australia) I started riding BMX about 1981 when I was 13yrs old, I bought the first BMX to arrive in my local bike shop and was hooked.

I was fairly good at street and dirt jumps for the standards of the day, people still talk of my riding at the local bike shop now. Already having the nickname Rat back then, it soon morphed into Radical Rat, or RadRat, Radical being a too often used term then, I thought it was dorky, but didn't mind the implication. Now days I'm just know as Rat, but that name is already taken here by, ummmm Rat :)

By the time I turned 19 chasing girls overtook chasing air, and smokes and grog made it hard to ride at all, I soon gave up BMX :( (Awwwwwwww)
(Forward to today, gave up smokes 8yrs ago, now occasional drinker)

At 24 I bough a cheap MTB and rode very occasionally.

Now at 36 I have a cheap 12yr old MTB, but my partner bought herself a new
Giant Yukon. Riding that and watching MTB and BMX videos that I have downloaded (F$%king Awesome what they do now, stuff I thought was for dreams only) has inspired me to get stuck in again. (lost 8kg so far)

Now I'm hill training and making great progress, can bunnyhop gutters with ease and coaster wheelie, things are coming back :)

If I can keep it up through winter and make good progress I will reward myself with a new MTB next spring.

Considering how fat and unfit I had become at my worst I think I could say MTBing has saved my life :)