Quantcast

What do you want in an XC race hardtail?

SuspectDevice

Turbo Monkey
Aug 23, 2002
Roanoke, VA
Hi,
You may have seen the pictures I posted of the new Sinister Mustang XC race bike last week.

We are still somewhat undecided on what we want to offer in terms of seat-tube and top-tube lengths.

How tall are you, what's your inseam measurement (and saddle height if you know it), and what size bike do you ride now?

FTW and I pretty much see eye-eye on geometry ( I have been riding his xc bikes for 11 years now), but we have a bit of a departure from what we have always done in mind.

zahgurim

Underwater monkey
Mar 9, 2005
lolAsia
How about something similar to the Mustang, but made using Ti?

I am loving my R9, but don't like alu for an XC hardtail frame. Too stiff, and building it light enough to race means it has a short lifespan. I just built up a new Ti XC bikey, and am sofar convinced that I will never spend money on alu again.

SuspectDevice

Turbo Monkey
Aug 23, 2002
Roanoke, VA
Dude, it sounds like You've never ridden a good aluminum xc bike. Good aluminum bikes ride softly and have a nice amount of liveliness to them and are considerably lighter than ti at a 1/3 the price.

And as long as they aren't built from rotten Easton 7000 tubesets they last for at least 2 or 3 seasons....

There are almost no quality alumium frames on the market these days, as steel and piles of glue and plastic are really in fashion right now.

The Toninator

Muffin
Jul 6, 2001
High(ts) Htown
oHHHH nice bike.
carbon is for suckers although do see the benefit of carbon stays.
Aluminum has it's application but for old folk endurance racers it aint (unless it's applied to a f/sb)

SuspectDevice

Turbo Monkey
Aug 23, 2002
Roanoke, VA
Carbon stays are all hype. They are just easier for lazier framebuilders to glue on. Less welding and alignment issues. They are neither lighter or more compliant than properly designed aluminum stays.