Quantcast

What gearcable?

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by tanja, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. tanja

    tanja Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Hi, I have a question. On my SC Bullit I have to replace my outer gearcable regularly, like every 1-1,5 month. I use regular outercable's with stoppers, but the wires come out anyway and I getting sick of it. My lbs thinks I eat this stuff :) and I'm always worried at races. Are there REAL tough cables I can get?? Thanks!!!
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. MDBullit

    MDBullit Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD
    pick up some NOKON housing kits.
     
  3. DHCorky

    DHCorky Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Headed to the lift...
    Are you using the correct ends on your housing? Some ends have slightly large holes(brake) that let the wires of the housing pull through without much effort.

    Your shiffting techniques might also cause it. The thing that causes the wires to push through is the housing being compressed. Do you shift without pedalling, or mash through the gears. Anytime you shift and the derailluer is not allowed to move right away will cause the housing to be put under extra stress.
     
  4. JRB

    JRB Guest

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / N/A
    So it's blowing out in the curls??? I have never had that problem. XTR sets are sealed well. If it is blowing out the housing, I would try Nokian too.
     
  5. beaverbiker

    beaverbiker Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    Santa Clara
    run full housing
     
  6. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    New England
    I run the Avid flak jackets and they seem to be solid.
     
  7. Ciaran

    Ciaran Fear my banana

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 8
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9,843
    Location:
    So Cal
    I would check how it's routed (not rubbing on anything) and make sure it's installed correctly. There is no way you should be blowing through housing that fast unless something is wrong.
     
  8. tanja

    tanja Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Oke, I'm back, thanks guys. I run a full cable all the way. I thought I was pretty descent with the shifting of gears, keeping the chainline in mind you know. But I do shift while pedeling, not usually under strain, but it happens. So it might be a combination of that and crappy housing. It's a thin cable and the housing doesn't close too well.
     
  9. DHS

    DHS Friendly Neighborhood Pool Boy

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    5,101
    Location:
    Sand, CA
    i've always used the QBP housing. i buy BULK. its about twice the size as shimano crap. and has a red tube inside the cable that comes with lube in it. works great. even better with stainless steel cables.
     
  10. tanja

    tanja Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Do you perhaps know where I can get these online?
     
  11. Changleen

    Changleen Paranoid Member

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    9,890
    Location:
    Hypernormality
    Seriously, no gear outer cable should need changing that often, it can't be an issue of quality - there's something wrong with your setup.