Quantcast

what kind (brand) of auto-mechanic should i become????

ALEXIS_DH

Tirelessly Awesome
Jan 30, 2003
Lima, Peru, Peru
so, i´ve been thinking.

am fresh out of auto-mechanics school. i work as a supervisor in an outsourced costumer service crap.

i dont think i´d give up my main job, but i want to get working experience as a mechanic. i might consider going full time to auto-mechanics if the experience is worth it (though it pays peanuts here)
i also want to go back to school in the not-so far future (1 year) to finish mechanical engineering. that´d have to be in the good ol´US, because thats where i started.

i got an agreement with the folks, if i go back and finish college to the US, they´d pick up hald the tab and i´d have to pick up the other half of the school bill.

so that leaves me with this decision.
in terms of the job market in the states, what kind (brand) of auto technicians would be the better.

the local market gives the next options available in the states:
daimler-chrysler
all the japanese brands
hyundai
audi/vw/seat/porsche
fiat/ferrari
ford (small dealership)
GM (even smaller dealership)

and a lot of smaller brands which i believe are too small to be desirable. oh yeah, add small rally-car builder shops. i would go to school in the deep south.

thoughts?

edit Add BMW (kinda big dealership network here) and volvo to that.

stevew

resident influencer
Sep 21, 2001
I know someone in California who is a Porsche mechanic, but has no desire to drive fast cars.

Toshi

butthole powerwashing evangelist
Oct 23, 2001
vw group, since they break down the most :D

ALEXIS_DH

Tirelessly Awesome
Jan 30, 2003
Lima, Peru, Peru
Changleen said:
Volvo - Get the Chicks!
chicks? that was freaky. growing up, my mom and i rode volvos.
they (specially the wagons and xc´s) are the ultimate soccer-mom mobile in Lima.

brian HCM, good call. am starting over and planning my future, so i want to do something that would help in the long run.