Quantcast

What's happening to Ridemonkey?

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by bizutch, Nov 9, 2005.

  1. bizutch

    bizutch Delicate CUSTOM flower

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 8
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    15,980
    Location:
    Over your shoulder whispering
    Well, since the moderator hasn't responded to me to offer some help, I'll ask the peanut gallery.

    For a couple weeks now since things started changing, I have not received any email notifications of thread updates or PM's, even though my personal settings show me as subscribed and my email server is NOT blocking anything fromthe ridemonkey.com extensions. So what gives?

    Also, I've accidentally been doing a lot of duplicate posting b/c when I reply to a thread, the progress bar just hangs and doesn't do anything...so I hit "Submit" again and I get a duplicate. I've noticed a lot of other users doing the same too. Something in my settings? or something needing tweaked on the site?

    And who else besides me is perturbed by the 100 letter limit in signatures. Yeah, my signature is kinda loud, but yours can be too. I tried to change my sig but I'd have to ditch all the links to my sponsors and stuff?

    not trying to cause a riot...please don't ban me o mighty Oracle...:)
     
    #1 -   Nov 9, 2005

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. DHS

    DHS Friendly Neighborhood Pool Boy

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    5,101
    Location:
    Sand, CA
    yea same posting things happening to me. i pmed the RM god. no response was given. hope all is ok.
    (thanks for writing it out for me)
     
    #2 -   Nov 9, 2005
  3. lovebunny

    lovebunny can i lick your balls?

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 19
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    7,242
    Location:
    San Diego, California, United States
    hahahaaha. i think you should leave the dh forum everynow and then. the answer you seek is in the lounge my good man
     
    #3 -   Nov 9, 2005
  4. corey_rideDC

    corey_rideDC Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    DCmetro
    here's a thread about the lack of notifications: http://www.ridemonkey.com/forums/showthread.php?t=134552

    i've noticed the hang as well... only when using the quick reply though.

    i like the sig limit, there are some crazy distracting sigs out there that serve no purpose. i'm in favor of premium members getting more space in their sigs.
     
    #4 -   Nov 9, 2005
  5. Cant Climb

    Cant Climb Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 10
    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,691
    same has been happening for me the last couple weeks......the screen hangs and i opened another session and see that the thread was updated.....
     
    #5 -   Nov 9, 2005
  6. berkshire_rider

    berkshire_rider Growler

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 10
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,565
    Location:
    The Blackstone Valley
    A work around for the hanging / duplicate posting error, is after it hangs for a short period after clicking on "Submit Reply" click on the posting link at the top of the page, and it will take you right to your post. Even though the forum appears to be hanging, it posts your reply almost instantly.
     
    #6 -   Nov 9, 2005
  7. renegade999

    renegade999 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    331
    i say stay off the internet, get some work done and give it a rest with long 'sponsor shout-out' signatures. no one cares who you ride for.

    it's all good in my book.
     
    #7 -   Nov 9, 2005
  8. Jabuttri

    Jabuttri Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Bellingham & Portland
    AMEN- enough with the sponsor coddling. We dont care who you ride for
     
    #8 -   Nov 9, 2005
  9. OGRipper

    OGRipper Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 92
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    9,669
    Location:
    NORCAL is the hizzle
    I have also noticed these changes as well as an annoying (but perhaps inevitable) increase in pop-ups and other ads. Since a lot of links on here come up as pop-ups, using a pop-up blocker doesn't really help.

    The hang time on submitting posts is also a pain. I've noticed, however, that if you hit the back button after hitting submit, then refresh the page, my posts are getting through without waiting for the full hang time. It's still a hassle but at least it's faster.

    Edit, just did that and it worked.
     
    #9 -   Nov 9, 2005
  10. Jimmy_Pop

    Jimmy_Pop Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,030
    Location:
    Phoenix, Az USA
    I dont have any of the problems you all are taking about.

    T1 OSX 10.3.9
     
  11. oly

    oly skin cooker for the hive

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Witness relocation housing
    I just want the buttons and smileys to work, currently they dont for my main system. (using firefox)

    But I dont pay so what do i have to complain about right?
     
  12. Bulldog

    Bulldog Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,009
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I love that idea! I hate scrolling through excessive sponsor reach-arounds and member's spam.
     
  13. narlus

    narlus Eastcoast Softcore
    Staff Member

    Rep/Likes:
    16 / 21
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    24,678
    Location:
    behind the viewfinder
    an easier suggestion is to just turn off "view sig files". works for me.
     
  14. blt2ride

    blt2ride Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,334
    Location:
    Chatsworth
    I'm having the same problem when I post a reply. I found that when it happens, click "home" and then hit F5 or refresh.
     
  15. S.K.C.

    S.K.C. Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 10
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,105
    Location:
    Pa. / North Jersey
    ...everytime I send a PM it hangs up and then gives me the "Cannot Find Server" page...

    Same thing with posting threads... only works if I hit "Refresh" during spazzy progress bar antics...

    AND - it gives me sh!t when I try to logout... WTF???
     
  16. berkshire_rider

    berkshire_rider Growler

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 10
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,565
    Location:
    The Blackstone Valley
  17. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,062
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    when updates attack...tonight on fox.
     
  18. kinghami3

    kinghami3 Future Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Ballard 4 life.
    Well, you read the adds --> RM gets cash anyhow. Does it even work for the Premium members?

    My main problem is that with the new engine, nothing besides basic forum functions is working now.
     
  19. Spunger

    Spunger Git yer dumb questions here

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,258
    Location:
    805
    Well........I posted one of those "ridemonkey doesn't work" threads. I'm on Firefox. Replys sorta stall out but seem to go through, the search function is retarded, I get only 1 pop up a visit (which is ok), my font switches from small to normal every now and then, I get no emails about posts that I am subscribed to, I get no warning of PM's except for when I log on, sometimes peoples avatars don't show up just text.

    I dunno, hopefully it's either a bug with firefox users or it's a glitch somewher in the message boards. I'm sure Ridemonkey is aware of it all as these posts are popping up everywhere.
     
  20. skatetokil

    skatetokil Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,385
    Location:
    DC/Bluemont VA
    also, the tonic young and stupid exteme sports insurance add expands to cover the top of the latest posts bar and then when it goes back into its little window, you still cant see the post headings underneath. it's just white screen. not cool.
     
  21. ctrailfreak

    ctrailfreak Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    Independence,Mo
    I have no idea what you guys are saying about the double posts? J/K I'm sure the bugs will be fixed. But it sure is a pain now with no email notification on subscribed posts and Pm's!
     
  22. Kntr

    Kntr Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 20
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,536
    Location:
    Montana
    My computer will actually lock up and I have to turn it off. Some of the adds and pics show up as red Xs. I want my old monkey. The new monkey rocks.... when it works. Kind of like a Romic. :) Hopefully this wont last long.
     
  23. Ridemonkey

    Ridemonkey This is not an active account

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    4,109
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Guys, there have been a zillion threads on this, and I've answered a zillion times. We're obviously aware of the problem, and are working to resolve it. Please be patient.
     
  24. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
  25. Cant Climb

    Cant Climb Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 10
    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,691
    Seems like the monkey has the flu.....